Talk Tennis

Talk Tennis (http://tt.tennis-warehouse.com/index.php)
-   Tennis Tips/Instruction (http://tt.tennis-warehouse.com/forumdisplay.php?f=17)
-   -   Video of forehands - casual rallying (http://tt.tennis-warehouse.com/showthread.php?t=361225)

JackB1 12-20-2010 09:28 PM

Video of forehands - casual rallying

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=7Pct3rycBtk

Please be kind! I am not claiming to be some hotshot 5.0 :)
Just a 50 year old guy trying to make it from 3.5-4.0
This is my first attempt at video and I was kind of dragging after playing two sets. It's a little chopped up, because I tried to cut out all the time chasing balls down, etc. I will try and make a better video soon and also include some backhands and serves.

Thanks in advance for any critique or suggestions

AllLeague 12-20-2010 10:36 PM

Um, not to be rude but your hitting partner is bringing you down quiet a bit.
Besides that, it seems like you are just tired after playing your two sets because shoulder rotation is very slow and you are pushing your body forward to compensate for the lack of shoulder rotation. And your footwork seems to be slightly lazy because you don't seem to be in the perfect position when you actually hit the ball.

arche3 12-21-2010 01:20 AM

Decent playing other than the tiredness. You play like most of the guys at my tennis club. IMO 4.0 is all about being consistent. You don't even need a weapon. And the singles guys from the 4.0 team around me would most likely double bagel you simply because they are consistent against your type of ground strokes. medium paced rally shots. You would miss before they did. Up the shot threshold and you will be good to go.

tennis_balla 12-21-2010 01:32 AM