Talk Tennis

Talk Tennis (http://tt.tennis-warehouse.com/index.php)
-   Racquets (http://tt.tennis-warehouse.com/forumdisplay.php?f=9)
-   -   Boris Becker (BB) London Club (http://tt.tennis-warehouse.com/showthread.php?t=362095)

TimothyO 12-30-2010 11:55 AM

Boris Becker (BB) London Club

I searched and couldn't find a "Club Thread" for this amazing racquet so I thought I'd start one. :)

I hit with the London for the first time today. It's now my go-to racquet with my PB10 Mid in reserve for special situations against "heavier" balls demanding more ploughthrough (see below).

As a reference point for those considering the London I'm quite new to tennis, have experimented with a number of racquets and string combos, and play only singles. While I'm certainly fast enough to play all-court and enjoy running down "impossible to reach" shots, I really enjoy the long range fight from the baseline.

My favorite racquets to date have been the Dunlop Aerogel 4D 100 (a laser guided rapier) and the PB10 Mid (a broadsword with a great combo of comfort, precision, and ploughthrough that plays far lighter than its specs would suggest).

I also fence so my arm can be sensitive and comfort is critical to me.

Here's my initial take on the BB London:

- Lead: Knowing that I strongly prefer HL racquets I immediately modified the BB London to bring it to ~7-8 points head light with total weight of 331g (a shade under 11.7 oz.) Unmodified its strung balance (no overgrip or dampener) was 4 points HL. I added no lead to the hoop (only the grip) and really see no need to add hoop lead (buy a PB10 Mid instead!).

- String: My standard string is VS17 Crosses at 50# and Xcel Mains at 52# which is how I strung the London.