Talk Tennis

Talk Tennis (http://tt.tennis-warehouse.com/index.php)
-   Tennis Tips/Instruction (http://tt.tennis-warehouse.com/forumdisplay.php?f=17)
-   -   a lesson FROM my 6 yo (http://tt.tennis-warehouse.com/showthread.php?t=371174)

dozu 03-05-2011 07:09 PM

a lesson FROM my 6 yo

complete beginner, just another kid taken to the community court by dad and swing that over sized racket at some balls. (but I have never taught him anything yet)

so I am just soft tossing balls left and right to him... and to my surprise, he started doing shuffle steps to move to both sides and hit his 2 handed shots.

I praised him on the good footwork (had to then explain what the word 'footwork' means).. Here is his reply -

" If you run straight to the ball, you might run over the ball and miss it, but if you shuffle step, you can get to the right place and hit the ball"

I was speechless... maybe the boy has some hope, although the dad's tennis game is already damaged beyond repair lol.

kishnabe 03-05-2011 08:31 PM

LOL...your kid actually said shuttle steps...I don't think many kids that age say that term or even understand it.

Good Luck....must be fun playing with your own children.

charliefedererer 03-05-2011 08:32 PM

It sounds like you have another Roger on your hands:

Or Andre, are you posting as dozu here on TT:

Andre Agassi & Steffi Graf - 'Son' Playing Tennis: http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=WN7rUSqKEPM

dozu 03-06-2011 02:40 AM

Quote:

Originally Posted by kishnabe (Post 5466852)
LOL...your kid actually said shuttle steps...I don't think many kids that age say that term or even understand it.

Good Luck....must be fun playing with your own children.

thx - I gave him the term 'shuffle' first, borrowed from here.

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=3_G4qGc2Zdk

dozu 03-06-2011 02:50 AM

Quote:

Originally Posted by charliefedererer (Post 5466854)
It sounds like you have another Roger on your hands:

Or Andre, are you posting as dozu here on TT: