Talk Tennis

Talk Tennis (http://tt.tennis-warehouse.com/index.php)
-   Shoes and Apparel (http://tt.tennis-warehouse.com/forumdisplay.php?f=15)
-   -   shoes and achilles tendonitis (http://tt.tennis-warehouse.com/showthread.php?t=405716)

randbrod14 12-08-2011 09:35 AM

shoes and achilles tendonitis

I have been suffering with Achilles tendonitis off and on for the past year and a half. I am a4.0 player, 50+ and play doubles once a week on concrete.

I have been wearing K Swiss Defier for a few years. They must have changed things since I have not been happy with the past pair I have gotten.

With my achilles issues, I am looking at getting a new pair of sneakers. It there anyone who has had achilles issues and would recommend tennis sneakers for me to wear?

Thanks!

jelichek 12-08-2011 09:58 AM

I have chronic achilles tendonitis in both. I have been wearing Nike Zoom Breathe 2K10's for the last year and a half or so. Very achilles friendly as they do not come up high in the back, there is no "v" notch back there as well and I don't lace up the top hole as to keep even less pressure on the area. Those seem to be the issues as far as I can tell: high in back, heel notch and tying too tight. Sadly, Nike somehow managed to mess up the new 2K11's and they do not work out for me at all. I recently tried on a high dollar New Balance pair (whatever their most expensive one is - don't know the number - and they seemed like they would work out as they meet my criteria. I did not buy them so can not say for sure. Have had this problem for years as I play virtually every day and it took me awhile to figure all of this out so...

NJ1 12-08-2011 01:54 PM

Try the Adidas Barricade 7s. They sound very supportive and cushioned.

janky 01-14-2013 11:56 AM