Talk Tennis

Talk Tennis (http://tt.tennis-warehouse.com/index.php)
-   Adult League & Tournament Talk (http://tt.tennis-warehouse.com/forumdisplay.php?f=35)
-   -   Rule Question (http://tt.tennis-warehouse.com/showthread.php?t=424222)

Lendl 05-15-2012 04:14 PM

Rule Question
 
I've never seen this come up. In a USTA tourney a friend serves and hits the net for a let chord and the ball travels in the air to the returner and he catches it in the air. What is the call?

A. Server's point
B. Let, first serve
C. Fault, second serve

BHiC 05-15-2012 04:32 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by Lendl (Post 6537010)
I've never seen this come up. In a USTA tourney a friend serves and hits the net for a let chord and the ball travels in the air to the returner and he catches it in the air. What is the call?

A. Server's point
B. Let, first serve
C. Fault, second serve

Pretty sure it is B, but I am not positive. It is definitely not C.

OrangePower 05-15-2012 04:38 PM

Let, first serve. Since the ball touched a player before bouncing, it is considered in. Prior to that, it hit the net. Therefore, it is a let.

esgee48 05-15-2012 04:38 PM

Serve is a let as soon as it hits the net. The point has not started yet, so the player can catch it. OTOH, if the serve hits the player on the fly, then the server has won the point.

jonnyjack 05-15-2012 04:50 PM

Source: http://assets.usta.com/assets/1/15/2...AT%20COURT.pdf

Quote:

22. THE LET DURING A SERVE
The service is a let if:
a. The ball served touches the net, strap or band, and is otherwise good; or,
after touching the net, strap or band, touches the receiver or the receiverís
partner or anything they wear or carry before hitting the ground; or
b. The ball is served when the receiver is not ready.
In the case of a service let, that particular service shall not count, and the server
shall serve again, but a service let does not cancel a previous fault.

blakesq 05-15-2012 04:51 PM

the server only wins the point only if the ball does NOT hit the net cord before hitting opposing player.

Quote:

Originally Posted by esgee48 (Post 6537070)
Serve is a let as soon as it hits the net. The point has not started yet, so the player can catch it. OTOH, if the serve hits the player on the fly, then the server has won the point.


woodrow1029 05-15-2012 04:52 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by Lendl (Post 6537010)
I've never seen this come up. In a USTA tourney a friend serves and hits the net for a let chord and the ball travels in the air to the returner and he catches it in the air. What is the call?

A. Server's point
B. Let, first serve
C. Fault, second serve

B, assuming it was a first serve that was hit.

storypeddler 05-18-2012 02:39 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by Lendl (Post 6537010)
I've never seen this come up. In a USTA tourney a friend serves and hits the net for a let chord and the ball travels in the air to the returner and he catches it in the air. What is the call?

A. Server's point
B. Let, first serve
C. Fault, second serve

It is B. Let, first serve. Because it hit the net before it was caught, it is a let. Had the receiver simply caught it on the fly as it was heading toward the fence, it would have been server's point.

hcelizondo 05-19-2012 04:46 PM

B is the correct answer


All times are GMT -8. The time now is 04:50 AM.

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.6.9
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
© 2006 - Tennis Warehouse