Talk Tennis

Talk Tennis (http://tt.tennis-warehouse.com/index.php)
-   Odds & Ends (http://tt.tennis-warehouse.com/forumdisplay.php?f=21)
-   -   New Tattoo and Tennis (http://tt.tennis-warehouse.com/showthread.php?t=426642)

CaldwellYSR 06-04-2012 09:43 AM

New Tattoo and Tennis

I'm relatively new to tennis. I play 4-5 days a week for 3+ hours a day. Nothing competitive (yet) just for fun. I have been thinking about getting a tattoo on the inside of my forearm. A little closer to the elbow than this one and about that size. On the forearm of my dominant arm (left).

After talking to the artist and finding information online, everybody is saying I need to keep it out of the sun while it heals but I don't need to keep it bandaged up the whole time either. Which basically sounds to me like "don't play tennis for the two week healing period". There are worse things in life I know but I really don't want to take two weeks off from playing tennis just for a tattoo! So here's my questions to y'all:

What kind of precautions should I take to keep a new tattoo protected while playing tennis?

Will all the movement and sweating on my arm cause any damage to the tattoo?

r2473 06-04-2012 10:16 AM

You are not allowed to sweat, shower, etc. for a two week period after getting your tattoo. Its just the price ya gotta pay.

Tennis is fine though.

CaldwellYSR 06-04-2012 10:18 AM

Quote:

Originally Posted by r2473 (Post 6595233)
You are not allowed to sweat, shower, etc. for a two week period after getting your tattoo. Its just the price ya gotta pay.

Tennis is fine though.

Arg, would a sweatband over the tattoo be bad?

Fearsome Forehand 06-04-2012 11:33 AM

I think everyone should get a tattoo (just like everyone else) to prove their individuality.

At least it isn't a tramp stamp. More like a white trash stamp. :)

I suggest getting a temporary tattoo. That way about the same time the novelty wears off so will the tattoo.