Talk Tennis

Talk Tennis (http://tt.tennis-warehouse.com/index.php)
-   Adult League & Tournament Talk (http://tt.tennis-warehouse.com/forumdisplay.php?f=35)
-   -   Is this DQ Ridiculous? (http://tt.tennis-warehouse.com/showthread.php?t=427762)

clutch21 06-11-2012 11:42 AM

Is this DQ Ridiculous?

Hey guys/gals,

So I just started play USTA league tennis this year in Texas. After speaking to some people, including putting a video up on talk tennis to find out an approximate rating, I decided to play 4.0 USTA (Some people told me 3.0-3.5 but I went ahead and self rated 4.0). I started playing tennis for the first time during my junior year in high school and now I'm 20. I have been playing pretty consistently over that time span (barring one year where I didn't really play). Just a little background, I play a solid counterpuncher game. I have a pretty deadly topspin forehand, a decent serve, and a weakish but very consistent slice backhand. My biggest weapon is my speed.

So far this season I have played 3 singles matches. I won them 6-3, 6-4. 6-3, 6-0, and 6-2, 6-4. My captain didn't want me playing singles anymore for the time being, just in case a "long shot" of getting DQ-ed, so he moved me to doubles which does not suit me as well. I have played four doubles matches an have split results- 3-6, 1-6. 6-2, 6-2. 5-7, 6-7. and 6-2, 6-1.

Anyways, today I received a call from the NTRP coordinator for USTA saying that I had been disqualified at 4.0, and he was now bumping me up to 4.5. Is it just me or is this kind of ridiculous? I mean, according to my results I played well at 4.0 but nothing that I would consider dominant or "out of level" play.

To make matters worse, our team was most likely on track to go to sectionals which would have been an awesome experience. Does this DQ seem justified or did I just catch some horrible luck?

anubis 06-11-2012 11:50 AM