Talk Tennis

Talk Tennis (http://tt.tennis-warehouse.com/index.php)
-   Stringing Techniques / Stringing Machines (http://tt.tennis-warehouse.com/forumdisplay.php?f=23)
-   -   Buying First Stringer - Used. Please help! (http://tt.tennis-warehouse.com/showthread.php?t=430385)

ChadW 07-01-2012 06:49 PM

Buying First Stringer - Used. Please help!

Newbie here. Thanks for all the great information here.

Gonna take the dive and get into stringing. Instead of the $180 new Klippermate, or Gamma X2, I'm considering a few used ones for a similar price.

Which of these would you recommend (listed in the order that I prefer them)? What things should I concerned about buying used?

Zebest from the 1980s; (I think it's a predecessor of the current Eagnas 700).

Winn Pro II with newer Eagnas tensioner (not sure on age)

Gamma Progression 602 FC (about 10 years old)

Ektelon [Don't know the model or year, but has been recently used to string]

ChadW 07-01-2012 06:50 PM

what happened to my photos?

I used imgur dot com. I only see the dreaded red X.

ChadW 07-01-2012 07:13 PM

ChadW 07-02-2012 11:05 AM

Anyone willing to chime in here? I could really use some expertise, as I'm too new and inexperienced to know which is the best route to go.

1HandedBackhand 07-02-2012 02:56 PM

I personally would go with the Gamma 602 FC.....I like the six point mounting and the fixed clamps. Also I know you can still get parts for it, as for the older machines i'm not so sure. I would stay away from EAGNAS I personally think they sell generic parts that are low quality! Hope this helps.

ChadW 07-02-2012 05:41 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by 1HandedBackhand (Post 6686015)
I personally would go with the Gamma 602 FC.....I like the six point mounting and the fixed clamps. Also I know you can still get parts for it, as for the older machines i'm not so sure. I would stay away from EAGNAS I personally think they sell generic parts that are low quality! Hope this helps.