Talk Tennis

Talk Tennis (http://tt.tennis-warehouse.com/index.php)
-   Adult League & Tournament Talk (http://tt.tennis-warehouse.com/forumdisplay.php?f=35)
-   -   USTA Mobile Access Website (http://tt.tennis-warehouse.com/showthread.php?t=436197)

cknobman 08-15-2012 10:54 AM

USTA Mobile Access Website

I have just published an early version (beta) of a mobile website which the intent of is to try and make the USTA Tennislink site a bit more usable on mobile devices (outside of iPhone since they get an official app).

The url is: http://ustamobileaccess.azurewebsites.net/ (when viewing in full browser keep in mind this was designed for a mobile device so it will not look very good on large screen).

Please check it out and keep in mind that it is a very early beta and may have some bugs. Also this is my very first mobile web site ever (I primarily code internal business apps and never before on a mobile device) so I am still learning some of the design aspects. I have only been able to test this on an HTC EVO running Android 2.3 and a iPhone 4s but on those 2 devices things seem to be running pretty smoothly.

I initially contacted the USTA about the possibilities of them producing an app for Android or Windows Phone but they responded that they had no time frame on producing one.
I then contacted them expressing my desire to make one for them and tried to get them to work with me. They declined saying they could not share any information with me and I would have to wait until they produced something internally.

So in my frustration I am slowly reverse engineering as much of their website as possible and trying to recreate it myself. Of course since they will not work with me there are quite a few things that I simply can not do such as: registering accounts, tournament entries, updating scores, or anything that involves saving data to their system.