Talk Tennis

Talk Tennis (http://tt.tennis-warehouse.com/index.php)
-   Stringing Techniques / Stringing Machines (http://tt.tennis-warehouse.com/forumdisplay.php?f=23)
-   -   Alpha Revo 4000 + 2086 (aka Wise) Tension Head: Thoughts? (http://tt.tennis-warehouse.com/showthread.php?t=437813)

McLovin 08-29-2012 04:08 AM

Alpha Revo 4000 + 2086 (aka Wise) Tension Head: Thoughts?

I've been considering upgrading my stringing machine for a couple of years now (Eagnas drop weight) and was about to pull the trigger on a new Gamma X-ES. Then I started reading some threads here that suggest buying the Gamma X-ST and replacing the tension head with the 2086 (Wise) tension head.

Being the cheapskate that I am, I continued reading and saw the Alpha Revo 4000 is $50 cheaper than the X-ST ($699 vs $749), so now I'm considering the Alpha instead of the Gamma.

I guess I'm looking for people's experience with the Alpha Revo 4000, and independent of that, people's experience w/ the 2086 tension head. If anyone has the exact setup, that would be a plus.

Thanks.

mmk 08-29-2012 04:25 AM

Or if you wait until December and buy the TW gift cards at 10% off, you could get the X-ST for $675.

McLovin 08-29-2012 04:31 AM

Ha! I did think of that (I bought $800 worth last time they offered it up), but I really want to make the move in the next few weeks, and there is no guarantee they will do the gift card deal again.

In addition, TW only carries the Progression line of Gamma, which I've read are ever-so-slightly cheaper quality.

Davis Cup Fan 08-29-2012 05:05 PM

I have an alpha revo but no wise. But the alpha revo is super solid its amazing to string on. I would recomend it to anyone, got it in three days with free shipping.

mchjhn 08-30-2012 07:40 AM

only difference between the progression and the X series is the X series has draws and a tool tray, progression's just have a tool tray. everything else identical.

diredesire 08-31-2012 11:07 PM

Quote: