Talk Tennis

Talk Tennis (http://tt.tennis-warehouse.com/index.php)
-   Other Equipment (http://tt.tennis-warehouse.com/forumdisplay.php?f=16)
-   -   Dampener - use (http://tt.tennis-warehouse.com/showthread.php?t=439823)

arun_mrk 09-12-2012 07:43 AM

Dampener - use

I have been playing tennis for about 6 yrs and have never should a dampener. However, I see all of my partner use it.

Now, my question is,

Should I start thinking about using a dampener?

Is dampener really useful considering all the improvement that had happened in the racquet technology that happened?

I was following the pro in US open to see what the pro do and found some pro use and some doesn't use dampener.

ArliHawk 09-12-2012 07:54 AM

Quote:

Originally Posted by arun_mrk (Post 6894725)
I have been playing tennis for about 6 yrs and have never should a dampener. However, I see all of my partner use it.

Now, my question is,

Is dampener really useful considering all the improvement that had happened in the racquet technology that happened?

I was following the pro in US open to see what the pro do and found some pro use and some doesn't use dampener.

It's all personal preference. I prefer to use a dampener, but I know plenty of people who don't. If you've been playing 6 years and surviving without one, I'd say you are okay.

willlee 09-12-2012 08:32 AM

I started playing tennis without dampeners and have since switched to using them. It probably depends on your racquet but with my Radicals I notice a pretty significant change in the way they play with and without dampeners. Without the frame feels more hollow on impact and produces a slightly pingy sound. With the dampener the feeling is more muted/solid and produces a thwack. I use the Sampras 'O' dampener btw. Try it out and see if you like it. They are not too expensive even if you decide its not for you.

floide 09-12-2012 08:42 AM