Talk Tennis

Talk Tennis (http://tt.tennis-warehouse.com/index.php)
-   Racquets (http://tt.tennis-warehouse.com/forumdisplay.php?f=9)
-   -   Modifying the PK Ki 5 315 to be more like PD 2012? (http://tt.tennis-warehouse.com/showthread.php?t=439986)

GrandSlam45 09-13-2012 11:40 AM

Modifying the PK Ki 5 315 to be more like PD 2012?

I just demo'd the ProKennex Ionic Ki 5 315, and wow, what a comfy racquet! I've been playing with a Pure Drive 2012 the last couple of months, but suffering tennis elbow problems because of the frame stiffness.

The Ki 5 315 is almost a perfect replacement, but I find it lacks the power and pop of the PD 2012. However, the Ki 5 315 demo shipped with a crappy set of strings and I have no idea what tension, so perhaps that's part of the problem?

I'm wondering... if I add some lead tape and use low string tension on the Ki 5 315, would that give me the power I desire?

I've never used lead tape before... do I add it the 3 and 9 positions?

ollinger 09-13-2012 12:11 PM

If the Prokennex Q5 racquets due out shortly are indeed stiffer (RA about 67 for the two weights), they would more closely approximate the Bab in terms of pop yet should still be fairly comfortable.

jwbarrientos 09-13-2012 12:45 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by GrandSlam45 (Post 6897628)
I just demo'd the ProKennex Ionic Ki 5 315, and wow, what a comfy racquet! I've been playing with a Pure Drive 2012 the last couple of months, but suffering tennis elbow problems because of the frame stiffness.

The Ki 5 315 is almost a perfect replacement, but I find it lacks the power and pop of the PD 2012. However, the Ki 5 315 demo shipped with a crappy set of strings and I have no idea what tension, so perhaps that's part of the problem?

I'm wondering... if I add some lead tape and use low string tension on the Ki 5 315, would that give me the power I desire?