Talk Tennis

Talk Tennis (http://tt.tennis-warehouse.com/index.php)
-   Strings (http://tt.tennis-warehouse.com/forumdisplay.php?f=14)
-   -   Arm pain and strings (http://tt.tennis-warehouse.com/showthread.php?t=442202)

martini1 10-05-2012 09:30 PM

Arm pain and strings

I have been playing with my APDC for 4 yrs now. Never had any prob with it until I tried a new cross this time. I wonder if this is because of the string switch alone, or is it my swing is slightly changed due to lack of practice.

Old set ups - hurricane pro or big banger as main, vs gut cross. All low 50's.
Current - hurricane pro main Nvy cross 52lbs.

scotus 10-05-2012 10:00 PM

It could be any or a combination of the following:

1. Damage to the arm has been building up slowly due to your stiff racquet and strings.

2. You're getting older and your tendon isn't healing itself as quickly or properly as before.

3. Nvy, while soft, is not as soft as VS.

4. Your technique needs a tune-up, due to lack of practice.

5. You might be hurting your arm from an activity outside tennis.

fortun8son 10-05-2012 10:18 PM

^^^ That, pretty much, sums it up.

Jay_The_Nomad 10-05-2012 11:08 PM

I think you are rusty. Usually when I lay off tennis for a few weeks, I get a few aches at the start of my hitting sessions cuz of hitting off centre. But once I'm grooved in and hitting the ball nicely in the middle of the racquet, I don't notice the shocks anymore even if i forgot to restring and am using very very dead polyester.

Dead poly definitely feels harsher than freshly string poly but I find the difference not as significant as when I'm really misfiring.

martini1 10-05-2012 11:26 PM

I have been trying to hit some hard kick serves too. Don't know if this is one of the cause...

as far as #2 and #5 I think my short break isn't that dramatic... and my arm is definitely happening the next day after tennis. and it has happened the 3rd time in a row after the new string set up.