Talk Tennis

Talk Tennis (http://tt.tennis-warehouse.com/index.php)
-   College Tennis Talk (http://tt.tennis-warehouse.com/forumdisplay.php?f=40)
-   -   playing tennis abroad (http://tt.tennis-warehouse.com/showthread.php?t=444906)

joshburger 11-05-2012 09:08 AM

playing tennis abroad

Hello, I am a sophomore currently at a division 3 university. I am interested in studying abroad in the fall of 2013. Does anyone have any experience of know anybody who has studied abroad and played for the tennis team? I am still unsure of where I want to travel to, but I only speak english so it would have to either be an english speaking country or a program taught in english. thanks for the help in advance

goran_ace 11-05-2012 10:42 AM

One of my teammates did a semester abroad when I was in college. Coach wasn't too happy about it, but at the same time wasn't going to take the opportunity away from him. When he was overseas, he was completely on his own in terms of practice and conditioning. He didn't get very many opportunities to get in a good hit and when he came back he was a bit rusty, but he did have some stories to tell girls.

joshburger 11-07-2012 09:01 AM

interesting, do you know of any programs? did your teammate play for a team while he was abroad?

goran_ace 11-08-2012 09:59 AM

Haha. He hardly picked up a racket when he was over there. Partly because of a lack of decent hitting partners, partly because he was busy doing other things.

Not many college athletes spend a semester abroad because, yes, you do miss out on a lot and your game will suffer. There is no such thing an off-season. Tennis is a high maintenance game so coming back from time away is a process in itself, and on top of that the other guys have been training year round.