Talk Tennis

Talk Tennis (http://tt.tennis-warehouse.com/index.php)
-   Adult League & Tournament Talk (http://tt.tennis-warehouse.com/forumdisplay.php?f=35)
-   -   Time for another rules quiz! (http://tt.tennis-warehouse.com/showthread.php?t=445185)

woodrow1029 11-08-2012 09:14 AM

Time for another rules quiz!
 
These questions will be from the Rules and from "The Code":

1. Who is responsible for making the call when a player hits a ball that bounces on the court before going over the net?

A. The player that hit the ball
B. The opponent

2. If a ball falls out of a player's pocket during a point, then later in the match, the same player's hat flies off during a point, what would be the correct ruling, assuming both were called in a timely fashion?

A. Let both times, since they are two different types of events
B. Let for the ball falling out, then loss of point for the hat flying off
C. Loss of point both times because both were hindrances

3. In doubles, one partner calls a shot out, and when asked, the other partner says, "I don't know, I didn't see it".

A. The team that originally called it out loses the point because the partner didn't see it and this shows doubt
B. The call of "out" stands, as both partners don't have to agree on the call, they just can't "disagree".

4. If one player refuses the 5-minute warm-up prior to a match, then:

A. The other player is entitled to a 5 minute warm-up with any person of his/her choice, with coaching allowed
B. The other player is entitled to a 5 minute warm-up with any person of his/her choice, with NO coaching allowed
C. The other player can hit serves for 5 minutes, but can't choose another person to come warm-up with
D. The warm-up doesn't happen

5. What are the dimensions of a DOUBLES court

A. 100' X 36'
B. 78' X 36'
C. 78' X 27'

6. How many dampening devices is a player allowed to have on a racket, assuming placed in the proper position on the racket?

A. 1
B. 2
C. As many as they want

7. A tournament posted on it's website that all matches would be played, "Best of 3 sets, with a 10-point match tiebreak in lieu of the third set". In one match, the players began to play an actual full set, and the error was discovered at 3-0.

A. The match is over
B. Restart the set and play a match tiebreak
C. Continue playing out a full third set

8. Same as the question 7, but this time, the error is discovered at 2-1 in the third set.

A. Continue playing until the score reaches 3-1 or 2-2. At 3-1, the match is over. At 2-2 play a 10-point MATCH tiebreak.
B. Continue playing until the score reaches 3-1 or 2-2. At 3-1, the match is over. At 2-2 play a STANDARD SET tiebreak (first to 7 by 2).
C. Continue playing a full third set
D. Restart the set and play a match tiebreak.

9. May a tournament referee authorize a player to wear a cell phone in vibrate mode in certain situations such as when the player is an on-call doctor or emergency medical responder?

A. Yes
B. No

10. If a player's racket flies out of his hand during the serve, and the serve lands in the proper court, then:

A. The server can call a let
B. The receiver can call a let
C. Play continues, unless the racket hits the net or the receiver's court
D. The server loses the point based on the hindrance rule

seseli 11-08-2012 09:23 AM

I'll give it a try.
1B 2B 3B 4A 5 I'm bad at American metrics, so I won't try 6C 7C 8C 9A 10C

cluckcluck 11-08-2012 09:24 AM

1. A&B
2. a
3. b
4. c
5. b
6. c
7. a
8. b
9. b
10. b

dcdoorknob 11-08-2012 09:37 AM

1. not sure, but I'll say A. Should be fairly obvious to both though?
2. b
3. b
4. b (but could be a, no idea on the coaching thing)
5. b
6. c
7. a
8. b
9. I would hope so, I'll say a.
10. b

Cindysphinx 11-08-2012 09:45 AM

1. B
2. B
3. B
4. A
5. B
6. C
7. C
8. C
9. Y
10. C

Thanks, Woodrow!

Mauvaise 11-08-2012 11:01 AM

I'm sure I'll get most of these wrong, but I'll try :)

Quote:

Originally Posted by woodrow1029 (Post 7002603)
1. Who is responsible for making the call when a player hits a ball that bounces on the court before going over the net?

A. The player that hit the ball
B. The opponent

2. If a ball falls out of a player's pocket during a point, then later in the match, the same player's hat flies off during a point, what would be the correct ruling, assuming both were called in a timely fashion?

A. Let both times, since they are two different types of events
B. Let for the ball falling out, then loss of point for the hat flying off
C. Loss of point both times because both were hindrances

3. In doubles, one partner calls a shot out, and when asked, the other partner says, "I don't know, I didn't see it".

A. The team that originally called it out loses the point because the partner didn't see it and this shows doubt
B. The call of "out" stands, as both partners don't have to agree on the call, they just can't "disagree".

4. If one player refuses the 5-minute warm-up prior to a match, then:

A. The other player is entitled to a 5 minute warm-up with any person of his/her choice, with coaching allowed
B. The other player is entitled to a 5 minute warm-up with any person of his/her choice, with NO coaching allowed
C. The other player can hit serves for 5 minutes, but can't choose another person to come warm-up with
D. The warm-up doesn't happen

5. What are the dimensions of a DOUBLES court

A. 100' X 36'
B. 78' X 36'
C. 78' X 27'

6. How many dampening devices is a player allowed to have on a racket, assuming placed in the proper position on the racket?

A. 1
B. 2
C. As many as they want

7. A tournament posted on it's website that all matches would be played, "Best of 3 sets, with a 10-point match tiebreak in lieu of the third set". In one match, the players began to play an actual full set, and the error was discovered at 3-0.

A. The match is over
B. Restart the set and play a match tiebreak
C. Continue playing out a full third set

8. Same as the question 7, but this time, the error is discovered at 2-1 in the third set.

A. Continue playing until the score reaches 3-1 or 2-2. At 3-1, the match is over. At 2-2 play a 10-point MATCH tiebreak.
B. Continue playing until the score reaches 3-1 or 2-2. At 3-1, the match is over. At 2-2 play a STANDARD SET tiebreak (first to 7 by 2).
C. Continue playing a full third set
D. Restart the set and play a match tiebreak.

9. May a tournament referee authorize a player to wear a cell phone in vibrate mode in certain situations such as when the player is an on-call doctor or emergency medical responder?

A. Yes

B. No

10. If a player's racket flies out of his hand during the serve, and the serve lands in the proper court, then:

A. The server can call a let
B. The receiver can call a let
C. Play continues, unless the racket hits the net or the receiver's court
D. The server loses the point based on the hindrance rule


GlennK 11-08-2012 11:03 AM

Pure guessing on some of these, but here goes.

1. a
2. a
3. b
4. b
5. b
6. a
7. c
8. c
9. y
10. c

jonnyjack 11-08-2012 11:18 AM

My guesses...

1. A. The player that hit the ball

2. B. Let for the ball falling out, then loss of point for the hat flying off

3. B. The call of "out" stands, as both partners don't have to agree on the call, they just can't "disagree".

4. A. The other player is entitled to a 5 minute warm-up with any person of his/her choice, with coaching allowed

5. B. 78' X 36'

6. C. As many as they want

7. A. The match is over

8. B. Continue playing until the score reaches 3-1 or 2-2. At 3-1, the match is over. At 2-2 play a STANDARD SET tiebreak (first to 7 by 2).

9. A. Yes

10. C. Play continues, unless the racket hits the net or the receiver's court

Taxvictim 11-08-2012 11:58 AM

Quote:

Originally Posted by jonnyjack (Post 7002858)
My guesses...

Ditto, except #2. Let both times is my guess.

sureshs 11-08-2012 12:18 PM

Posters who post the question number with the answer choice as an alphabet: do you think we are going to go back to the first post for every one of your answers and find the matching phrase from your alphabet choice? No way.

Posters who post the question number and the full answer: are we supposed to refer to OP to find out the question for each answer? No way.

Post both the question and the answer in full.

Angle Queen 11-08-2012 01:40 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by Mauvaise (Post 7002808)
I'm sure I'll get most of these wrong, but I'll try :)

Dang, I was hoping that using the "quote" function would quote your quoting of Woodrow's quiz with you bolded answers....

Because I agree with all of them without looking them up! (except #7 and #8....merely because I know nothing of tournament rules :p ).

Thanks, Woodrow for doing one of these again. They are enlightening.

Timbo's hopeless slice 11-08-2012 01:52 PM

hey Woodrow, you forgot :

11. A player leaps across the net in a blind rage believing he has been 'hooked' by the opposing mixed doubles team.

does he:

A: storm to the baseline to check 'his' mark in righteous fury, thus fulfilling his destiny

B: upon failure to find said mark, begin 'hunting for heads'

C: slink off to TT and create a thread on the issue

(or)

D: All of the above

AutoXer 11-08-2012 04:14 PM

1.
A. The player that hit the ball (Looks like I really missed this one. I was thinking double bounce. Reading comprehension pownz me.

2.
B. Let for the ball falling out, then loss of point for the hat flying off

3.
B. The call of "out" stands, as both partners don't have to agree on the call, they just can't "disagree".

4.
B. The other player is entitled to a 5 minute warm-up with any person of his/her choice, with NO coaching allowed

5.
B. 78' X 36'

6.
A. 1

7.
C. Continue playing out a full third set

8.
C. Continue playing a full third set

9.
A. Yes

10.
C. Play continues, unless the racket hits the net or the receiver's court

db10s 11-08-2012 04:42 PM

1.a
2.b
3.b
4.a
5.b
6.c
7.c
8.c
9.a
10.c

Guesses...

Taxvictim 11-08-2012 07:33 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by sureshs (Post 7003036)
1. a
2. a
3. b
4. b
5. b
6. a
7. c
8. c
9. y
10. c

Pretty close, Sureshs.

woodrow1029 11-08-2012 08:22 PM

Answers to come tomorrow. :-)

Timbo's hopeless slice 11-09-2012 12:02 AM

including 11?

Mauvaise 11-09-2012 04:20 AM

Quote:

Originally Posted by Angle Queen (Post 7003209)
Dang, I was hoping that using the "quote" function would quote your quoting of Woodrow's quiz with you bolded answers....

I'm not sure vBulletin is that advanced. At least not without separate coding.


Quote:

Because I agree with all of them without looking them up! (except #7 and #8....merely because I know nothing of tournament rules :p ).

Thanks, Woodrow for doing one of these again. They are enlightening.
I don't know anything about tournament rules either - I just guessed based on what made sense to me. Which is why I know it'll be wrong. ;)

woodrow1029 11-09-2012 07:01 AM

Quote:

Originally Posted by Timbo's hopeless slice (Post 7003829)
including 11?

Of course # 11 also! :-)

woodrow1029 11-09-2012 09:28 AM

ANSWERS IN RED

1. Who is responsible for making the call when a player hits a ball that bounces on the court before going over the net?

A. The player that hit the ball
B. The opponent

2. If a ball falls out of a player's pocket during a point, then later in the match, the same player's hat flies off during a point, what would be the correct ruling, assuming both were called in a timely fashion?

A. Let both times, since they are two different types of events
B. Let for the ball falling out, then loss of point for the hat flying off
C. Loss of point both times because both were hindrances

3. In doubles, one partner calls a shot out, and when asked, the other partner says, "I don't know, I didn't see it".

A. The team that originally called it out loses the point because the partner didn't see it and this shows doubt
B. The call of "out" stands, as both partners don't have to agree on the call, they just can't "disagree".

4. If one player refuses the 5-minute warm-up prior to a match, then:

A. The other player is entitled to a 5 minute warm-up with any person of his/her choice, with coaching allowed
B. The other player is entitled to a 5 minute warm-up with any person of his/her choice, with NO coaching allowed (THE WARM-UP IS CONSIDERED THE START OF THE MATCH WITH REGARD TO TOILET BREAKS AND COACHING, SO NO COACHING ALLOWED DURING THE WARM-UP)
C. The other player can hit serves for 5 minutes, but can't choose another person to come warm-up with
D. The warm-up doesn't happen

5. What are the dimensions of a DOUBLES court

A. 100' X 36'
B. 78' X 36'
C. 78' X 27'

6. How many dampening devices is a player allowed to have on a racket, assuming placed in the proper position on the racket?

A. 1
B. 2
C. As many as they want

7. A tournament posted on it's website that all matches would be played, "Best of 3 sets, with a 10-point match tiebreak in lieu of the third set". In one match, the players began to play an actual full set, and the error was discovered at 3-0.

A. The match is over
B. Restart the set and play a match tiebreak
C. Continue playing out a full third set

8. Same as the question 7, but this time, the error is discovered at 2-1 in the third set.

A. Continue playing until the score reaches 3-1 or 2-2. At 3-1, the match is over. At 2-2 play a 10-point MATCH tiebreak.
B. Continue playing until the score reaches 3-1 or 2-2. At 3-1, the match is over. At 2-2 play a STANDARD SET tiebreak (first to 7 by 2).
C. Continue playing a full third set
D. Restart the set and play a match tiebreak.

9. May a tournament referee authorize a player to wear a cell phone in vibrate mode in certain situations such as when the player is an on-call doctor or emergency medical responder?

A. Yes (IF THE PHONE ACTUALLY "RINGS", THE OPPONENT IS ENTITLED TO THE POINT UNDER THE HINDRANCE RULE)
B. No

10. If a player's racket flies out of his hand during the serve, and the serve lands in the proper court, then:

A. The server can call a let
B. The receiver can call a let
C. Play continues, unless the racket hits the net or the receiver's court
D. The server loses the point based on the hindrance rule


All times are GMT -8. The time now is 09:13 AM.

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.6.9
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
© 2006 - Tennis Warehouse