Talk Tennis

Talk Tennis (http://tt.tennis-warehouse.com/index.php)
-   Strings (http://tt.tennis-warehouse.com/forumdisplay.php?f=14)
-   -   Compare these three synthetic guts (http://tt.tennis-warehouse.com/showthread.php?t=445300)

JetFlyr 11-09-2012 10:40 AM

Compare these three synthetic guts

I see that Gosen OGSM, Technifibre, and Kirschbaum can all be bought (in reels) for roughly the same price. I have been using OGSM for several years and, while it's a great cross with a poly, I haven't been terribly impressed with it in a full bed.

How do the Technifibre and Kirschbaum synthetic guts compare to OGSM? I'm trying to decide if I should give one a go (I buy reels) or stay with OGSM.

In years past, I have really liked the feel of PSGD and, believe it or not, Eagnas Perfect Spin.

pvaudio 11-09-2012 11:12 AM

Perfect Spin reminds me of Gamma syn gut, so I like it a lot. out of those three though, the TF will be the best in a full bed, the Gosen the best as a cross, and the Kirschbaum is best in the garbage. Kirschbaum makes poly first and foremost, so it's no surprise that their syn gut is hopeless.

JetFlyr 11-11-2012 06:54 PM

Bump.

Was hoping for a few more comments on this topic from those with experience with these strings.

Thank you.

xFullCourtTenniSx 11-11-2012 10:58 PM

Kirschbaum makes good poly strings.

Gosen is widely known for good, cheap strings. Mainly synthetics, but Gosen Ice (poly) is really good too from what I heard.

Technifibre makes excellent strings. I believe they're the ones who actually manufacture NXT.

It'd probably be easier if you specified which strings you were looking at.

pvaudio 11-12-2012 05:13 AM

^^^He did specify, he's asking about the syn guts. Tecnifibre and Kirschbaum only make one syn gut each.

anubis 11-12-2012 05:52 AM

OP: what are you using it for? Do you just want a cheap reel to have around to string for customers? Stringing crosses? Your "go to" full bed?

JetFlyr 11-12-2012 08:07 AM

Quote: