Talk Tennis

Talk Tennis (http://tt.tennis-warehouse.com/index.php)
-   Other Equipment (http://tt.tennis-warehouse.com/forumdisplay.php?f=16)
-   -   Best Dry Over Grip (http://tt.tennis-warehouse.com/showthread.php?t=445985)

dekko1 11-17-2012 10:29 AM

Best Dry Over Grip

Hey guys. In the 90s and 2000s I was using Tourna Grip, the original one. To me that was the best, as I sweat quite a bit in my hands. But for some reason, all of a sudden Tourna Grip became really bad, durability was terrible, and it became more tacky.
So I started using the Pacific orange grip, I think it's called XTR dry or something like that. I have been using it for a few years now, it has been really good, BUT, last pack I bought was very tacky, to the point that I can't barely hold the racket after a few games. I am really sure that it's the same grip, and all 3 grips of the pack feel the same.

So, can anyone suggest me another really good Dry Over Grip?
How is Tourna Grip lately?

Ramon 11-17-2012 10:44 AM

My favorite dry grip is Dunlop Viper Dry (the white one). It's thicker than other grips I use (like Supergrap and XtremeSoft), but it absorbs much better than both of them.

fusion91 11-17-2012 12:23 PM

I've also used Tourna Grip since the 90s when I was a junior. Last year I tried Solinco Heaven and it's been my overgrip of choice ever since. It feels similar to Tourna -- dry and gives you an assuring grip when you sweat. But it is a bit thicker, softer, and definitely lasts longer than Tourna.

Geology_Rocks! 11-18-2012 11:57 AM

One more vote for Solinco Heaven. I also switched from Tourna.

808 11-18-2012 12:22 PM

Yep, Solinco Heaven Grip is where it's at. As fusion91 said tiny bit thicker, a touch softer and longer lasting than Tourna.

db10s 11-18-2012 01:37 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by Ramon (Post 7021583)