Talk Tennis

Talk Tennis (http://tt.tennis-warehouse.com/index.php)
-   Other Equipment (http://tt.tennis-warehouse.com/forumdisplay.php?f=16)
-   -   Best Tennis Balls (http://tt.tennis-warehouse.com/showthread.php?t=446514)

AlfaAce 11-24-2012 05:51 PM

Best Tennis Balls

Vote for your favorite.

Francis27 11-24-2012 05:59 PM

Wilson US Open Extra duty

pvaudio 11-24-2012 10:17 PM

This will be a dead heat between Dunlop Grand Prix/Slazenger Wimbledons and Wilson USOs, with Pro Penn ATPs bringing up the rear. Why? The Dun/Slaz is the best overall ball. Lasts the longest, plays great. The Wilson is a slightly better playing ball, is a bit softer, BUT, will only last for about one match. This thread has been done dozens of times.

andyaycw 11-25-2012 06:39 PM

I recently started playing with Penn ATPs and noticed how much more lively they are - specifically, how much more they seem to respond when hit with topspin. I don't even have to try that hard, and when the ball bounces on the other side of the court there is a very noticeable kick to the ball.

It seems that USTA Leagues here in Cali seem to mostly use the Penn Championship, which, no matter how much extra topspin I put on the ball, seems to have no effect when the ball bounces on the other side of the court.

Anyone else notice this difference with other tennis balls?

pvaudio 11-25-2012 08:20 PM

Penn Championships should be reserved for nursing home walkers only. You even look at one of those things and it turns into a slow moving ball of fluff with no pop.

Matchball 11-25-2012 09:05 PM

What ?

Slazenger not included? You gotta be kidding me, right?
By far the best ball IMO.

SystemicAnomaly 11-25-2012 09:11 PM

My top 2 choices fall into the OTHER category. My top choices, in order:

~ Prince Tour
~ Slazenger Wimbledon
~ Dunlop Grand Prix

~ Wilson US Open XD
~ Wilson US Open Regular Duty
~ Penn ATP