Talk Tennis

Talk Tennis (http://tt.tennis-warehouse.com/index.php)
-   Racquets (http://tt.tennis-warehouse.com/forumdisplay.php?f=9)
-   -   Help choosing racquet(s)? (http://tt.tennis-warehouse.com/showthread.php?t=446706)

psv255 11-27-2012 09:25 AM

Help choosing racquet(s)?

After my Microgel Radical Pro bent out at the top after an unfortunate stringing, in a euphoric rush of sudden freedom, I recklessly got a 6.1 BLX 90, hoping to get more stability on my 1hbh & volleys.
I don't regret my choice too much, but I'm afraid I was a bit too ambitious with weight and head size...

I've been playing for about 4 years (1 of which with the BLX), don't exactly know my NTRP but I'm guessing it's somewhere in the range of 3.5/4.0.

Personal preferences: weight 11-12oz, headsize no larger than 100, low stiffness.
Any suggestions for a good set of racquets to try to at least narrow down my preference?

Thanks.

tennisjon 11-27-2012 09:49 AM

A 90 sq. in racquet for anyone in the 3.5-4.0 range is just crazy. Even for the pros very few play with a racquet so small with a tiny sweet spot. Look for something in the 96-100 sq. in range. At the very least the Wilson Juice Pro is at least a bit more powerful and bigger. I would recommend looking at the Pro Kennex Ki5 or KiQ5. They are flexible with similar heft. The Head Radical or Prestige also fit in this similar range. In addition, I would suggest looking at the Yonex VCore 98 or EZone Xi 98 for flexible, control-oriented racquet.

psv255 11-27-2012 10:42 AM

Quote:

Originally Posted by tennisjon (Post 7034825)