Talk Tennis

Talk Tennis (http://tt.tennis-warehouse.com/index.php)
-   College Tennis Talk (http://tt.tennis-warehouse.com/forumdisplay.php?f=40)
-   -   College tennis coach question (http://tt.tennis-warehouse.com/showthread.php?t=446743)

Rktennis1 11-27-2012 04:30 PM

College tennis coach question

I'm currently an assistant coach for a good top 25 naia mens amd womens program. It is more about the experience than the pay. I have decided that I am going to puruse a full time coaching job come spring. .....herein lies the problem.

I was just recently offered a head coaching position on an interim basis. The team is jumping to d2, and they are going to reopen the applicant pool in june. The current coach abruptly quit. Now, as an interim i figure id have.the best chance at the job in theory. So the question would be.... leave for the uncertain future or stay put where I am and look for something more permanent. If it makes any difference my current school is much more competitive of a program, if that makes a difference in future jobs, but Im the assistant, not the "man". Also if I move id have to sell my house as well quickly.

In summary would you stay an assistant at.the strong program, then look for a head position. Or take the uncertain head position at a mediocre school?

Thanks for any sage advice.

t135 11-27-2012 06:12 PM

Depends on what the mediocre program has to offer prospective student athletes. As a former college coach, I found that you need certain things to attract decent players and build a program; besides just yourself. Figure out why they are mediocre now and decide if you have what you need to take the program up a level. Great coaches need a good platform to work from and build a program.

floridatennisdude 11-27-2012 06:14 PM

Trust your gut. It's usually right.

ga tennis 11-28-2012 08:29 AM

Take the head coaching job.

Freak4tennis 11-28-2012 09:19 AM

Quote:

Originally Posted by Rktennis1 (Post 7035382)