Talk Tennis

Talk Tennis (http://tt.tennis-warehouse.com/index.php)
-   Adult League & Tournament Talk (http://tt.tennis-warehouse.com/forumdisplay.php?f=35)
-   -   When you call a ball out, then realize it was in (http://tt.tennis-warehouse.com/showthread.php?t=446842)

HunterST 11-28-2012 08:09 PM

When you call a ball out, then realize it was in
 
What's the official rule for this situation? It has happened to me a few times, and I've just given the point to my opponent to be safe. Isn't the actual rule that, if your return would have been in, you replay the point?

Winners or Errors 11-28-2012 08:31 PM

You did it according to the rules.

RoddickAce 11-28-2012 08:47 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by HunterST (Post 7037268)
What's the official rule for this situation? It has happened to me a few times, and I've just given the point to my opponent to be safe. Isn't the actual rule that, if your return would have been in, you replay the point?

That only happens in officiated matches where the call was made by a line judge/umpire.

Taxvictim 11-28-2012 08:53 PM

The old rule was that, if you hit a return that was in, but then corrected your out call, then you replayed the point.

The new rule is that if you call a ball out, then realize it was in, you give up the point immediately. It doesn't matter if you returned it. As soon as you called it out, the point was over. If you were wrong and admit it, you lose the point.

Don't let that stop you from correcting your bad out calls. I've had to do this a few times.

dizzlmcwizzl 11-29-2012 04:39 AM

Quote:

Originally Posted by Taxvictim (Post 7037332)
The old rule was that, if you hit a return that was in, but then corrected your out call, then you replayed the point.

The new rule is that if you call a ball out, then realize it was in, you give up the point immediately. It doesn't matter if you returned it. As soon as you called it out, the point was over. If you were wrong and admit it, you lose the point.

Don't let that stop you from correcting your bad out calls. I've had to do this a few times.

Not exactly correct ... the old rule used to be that if you corrected your call you replayed the point unless the next ball you hit was a weak sitter. If you had hit a weak sitter then you were to award the point to the opponent. I think the rule change cleared up that grey area.


All times are GMT -8. The time now is 12:27 AM.

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.6.9
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
© 2006 - Tennis Warehouse