Talk Tennis

Talk Tennis (http://tt.tennis-warehouse.com/index.php)
-   Junior League & Tournament Talk (http://tt.tennis-warehouse.com/forumdisplay.php?f=36)
-   -   Advise for improving ground strokes for 7 year old (http://tt.tennis-warehouse.com/showthread.php?t=447566)

schang70 12-07-2012 12:08 PM

Advise for improving ground strokes for 7 year old

Here is a video of my 7 year old daughter hitting ground strokes in her group class. She has been taking group lessons since March of this year. What advise do you have so she can improve her strokes? To me she leans backwards slightly when hitting her forehand. Her stance on her backhand is too open. Also, I think she just needs to improve her overall athletic ability and coordination. I am only a 3.5/4.0 player so I am not an expert.

http://youtu.be/_vazC2plEGQ

TCF 12-07-2012 03:01 PM

====================

schang70 12-07-2012 04:21 PM

Thanks TCF. I do hand feed her up close myself several times a week in addition to her group lesson. I just don't have any experience coaching a Junior player thus my posting on this forum. I am trying real hard to get her fundamentals correct, so I will try those tips you mentioned.

Thing is the club where she is taking her group lessons is considered prestigious around here with several top juniors training there. Her coach last week told me she was ready for the next level which uses the green dot ball. I took his world for it, but I knew there was something not right about her technique. Thanks again for point out the flaws.

LeeD 12-07-2012 04:25 PM

She's facing lots of chest high balls, and will face higher balls in the near future. Stronger grip would help. Strong SW especially.
On the backhand, conventional thought is closed stance, old school oft hand forehand technique.
Maybe wait a little while before closing her stance, as modern lefty technique is open stanced.

julian 12-07-2012 05:55 PM

Backhand stance

Quote:

Originally Posted by LeeD (Post 7052071)