Talk Tennis

Talk Tennis (http://tt.tennis-warehouse.com/index.php)
-   Tennis Tips/Instruction (http://tt.tennis-warehouse.com/forumdisplay.php?f=17)
-   -   rules for touching the net in doubles (http://tt.tennis-warehouse.com/showthread.php?t=447928)

dennis 12-11-2012 01:58 PM

rules for touching the net in doubles
 
so you run towards the net to retrieve a drop shot, you hit it and then and you're on your tip toes with both your arms up in the air desperately trying not to touch the net...

Can your partner come over and grab the back of your shirt so you don't fall into the net? If so... can you stretch this rule for other opportunities? eg run up your partner's back to gain extra height for a killer overhead? :cool:

LeeD 12-11-2012 02:04 PM

Yes, you can do both.

dennis 12-11-2012 02:17 PM

cool, anyone done it?

SystemicAnomaly 12-11-2012 02:39 PM

I seem to recall one sport where this was not allowed. Don't recall if it was tennis or perhaps badminton or volleyball. It does not make sense that this action would be disallowed in any of these sports since we are talking about "team" sports.

LeeD 12-11-2012 02:52 PM

In football, you're not allowed to jump on a teammates back to get high enough to block field goals or extra points.
In tennis, it matters little, as your opponent is hitting balls from all over his court into all over your court.

dennis 12-11-2012 03:13 PM

in rugby you can, you lift your team mate so that they can catch the ball, usually with 2 lifters. there's a Jim Carey movie where he dunks via someone's back, heh heh

Desiiliciouss 12-11-2012 03:53 PM

I'd like to see the video of that. How about you and your partner create that scenario and share with us?

Bobby Jr 12-11-2012 05:44 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by dennis (Post 7058386)
in rugby you can, you lift your team mate so that they can catch the ball, usually with 2 lifters.

Lifting in rugby is not quite allowed.

The players around him may support someone who has jumped during a line-out, but they can't lift him. They get away however with giving someone they're holding up an extra boost but it's technically not on.

Bartelby 12-11-2012 05:47 PM

This is very funny as it looks for all the world that they are being lifted after a little self-propulsion.



Quote:

Originally Posted by Bobby Jr (Post 7058563)
Lifting in rugby is not allowed.

The players around him may support someone who has jumped during a line-out, but they can't lift him.


dennis 12-12-2012 02:53 AM

re: rugby - they also lift in open play, eg from the drop kick at the start of the match. Good luck lifting a rugby player who isn't already jumping by the way.

I've seen one bryan brother pretend to hit a ball, get out of the way and the other one come in and hit it. Also I've seen them playing a really tall player and, joking around, one gets on his hands and knees so the other can stand on him to serve....

SystemicAnomaly 12-12-2012 05:03 AM

Quote:

Originally Posted by SystemicAnomaly (Post 7058311)
I seem to recall one sport where this was not allowed. Don't recall if it was tennis or perhaps badminton or volleyball. It does not make sense that this action would be disallowed in any of these sports since we are talking about "team" sports.

I thought that perhaps v'ball was the most likely of the 3 sports I mentioned previously that disallowed a player from holding a teammate back so that they would not fall into the net. However, I have come across a source that indicates that this is not the case. Perhaps the rules for v'ball have changed in this regard or it could be that either tennis or badminton that has such a rule if I recall correctly.

http://www.strength-and-power-for-vo...olleyball.html

"Assisting a Player - Rules of Volleyball A player is not permitted to take support from a teammate or any structure in order to make a play on the ball. However, a player that is about to commit a fault may be stopped or held back by a teammate."

Mongolmike 12-12-2012 06:29 AM

I dunno... looks legal in this video?? :)

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=anUorTGUq_0

SystemicAnomaly 12-12-2012 09:22 AM

Quote:

Originally Posted by Mongolmike (Post 7059145)
I dunno... looks legal in this video?? :)

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=anUorTGUq_0

Very entertaining! But what part of the video are you referring to? The antics antics at 2:20? Did I miss something?

dennis 12-12-2012 09:31 AM

Quote:

Originally Posted by SystemicAnomaly (Post 7059431)
Very entertaining! But what part of the video are you referring to? The antics antics at 2:20? Did I miss something?


yes, and the dummy smash is at 0:50

SystemicAnomaly 12-12-2012 10:39 AM

^ That was classic. Did one of the bros call an "audible" on the play or do these guys have that twin psychic thing going on? More horseplay at 1:35. However, did not see anything that pertains to the topic at hand. MongolMike?

Mongolmike 12-12-2012 10:43 AM

At the end where one brother stands on the other brothers back to mime returning a high kick serve. It was my mind's segue in reference to rugby lifts, and post #10. Pretty sure this is what Dennis was referencing. No?

SystemicAnomaly 12-12-2012 11:13 AM

^ Ok I C. Somehow I missed post #10 so the reference was lost on me. Mucho arigato and domo gracias for the video link.

Mongolmike 12-12-2012 11:33 AM

No problem... plus it is an entertaining video!


All times are GMT -8. The time now is 06:50 PM.

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.6.9
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
© 2006 - Tennis Warehouse