Talk Tennis

Talk Tennis (http://tt.tennis-warehouse.com/index.php)
-   Adult League & Tournament Talk (http://tt.tennis-warehouse.com/forumdisplay.php?f=35)
-   -   First Time Tennis Club Experience (http://tt.tennis-warehouse.com/showthread.php?t=448497)

Dasol 12-18-2012 07:20 AM

First Time Tennis Club Experience

Hi,

I went to a local tennis club for the first time in the US last week (I am an international student), and it was also my first indoor tennis game. I played a doubles match with other guys there and they looked 40s or 50s.

They played pretty well (I do not know their level), and my impression was that they tended to hit with slower pace than most of players that I met on hard courts. My usual hitting partners are younger than they are and many of them are graduate students like me. So, I am used to play with relatively fast pace and we just make fun of others when some of us hit moon balls.

The people that I played with at a local club did not hit absolute moon balls, but they tend to hit with less power and the trejectory of balls is just higher. Their shots were pretty accurate and consistent, yet it was a little bit boring when I was up to the net, since balls are just moving above my heads.

After the match, I was curious whether they intentionally slowed down the pace for a game plan and whether looping is a common winning strategy at a tennis club. But I did not ask since it was my first time there and I did not want to be rude or offending.

Sure, I can make my own pace when they loop, but I do not know whether I can improve my tennis at this tennis club. I can definitely learn how to play more consistently and accurately with those players, but I am wondering whether my play style or swing pattern might be impacted too.

So, question is whether this kind of looping style is common at a tennis club in the US. If so, I can play with these people and no need to look around other clubs. But if not, I want to try other clubs too.