Talk Tennis

Talk Tennis (http://tt.tennis-warehouse.com/index.php)
-   Tennis Tips/Instruction (http://tt.tennis-warehouse.com/forumdisplay.php?f=17)
-   -   Back forth between backhands -- a call for one handed backhand players (http://tt.tennis-warehouse.com/showthread.php?t=448740)

10isfreak 12-21-2012 06:23 AM

Back forth between backhands -- a call for one handed backhand players

When I started playing years ago, it was with a one handed backhand. And, ever since, I have always played it rather powerfully -- rarely did my forehand outweighted my backhand, even if I have built a great forehands over the years.

The problem, however, has always been consistency. I could hit rather flat and somewhat curvy balls, but I never got to hit those loopier strokes off my backhand wing... I never had total control over it. Hence, as most did before, I switched to a two handed backhand which was at first awkward and weak, but grew stronger and more stable with time. Yet, nothing feels like hitting that one handed backhand right... so, next year, as the snows melt and the sun decides to settle for longer in the sky, I plan on trying to learn how to hit that backhand with consistency.

So, I'd need advices. What made you get it right? What made the difference between inconsistency and consistency for you? Thanks in advance.

mikeler 12-21-2012 06:29 AM

For me it all clicked when I started using a semi western backhand grip.

luvforty 12-21-2012 07:04 AM

there are several things you can try.

1) first is a change in the approach.... slice is the preferred choice for high balls or hard flat incoming balls.. the topspin drive is preferred for low balls and passing shots.... that will cut down your 'unnecessary' use of the shot in some tough situations