Talk Tennis

Talk Tennis (http://tt.tennis-warehouse.com/index.php)
-   Tennis Tips/Instruction (http://tt.tennis-warehouse.com/forumdisplay.php?f=17)
-   -   Anyone with singlesitis? (http://tt.tennis-warehouse.com/showthread.php?t=450415)

MasturB 01-09-2013 08:20 PM

Anyone with singlesitis?

First and foremost, I'm a self taught player that has spent the last 5 years hitting and playing singles. I play doubles occasionally and I MEAN occasionally.

I started playing more pickup doubles recently, and I noticed my brain and muscle memory is wired to hit the ball in the singles court. At the net when I have the entire doubles lane open, my brain for some reason aims for the singles alley line. Returning balls are becoming an issue too, because I'm frequently hitting singles returns too close for a poacher to capitalize on, leaving a huge part of the court wide open.

Any way to fix this (other than the obvious of playing more doubles)? I don't want to screw up my timing and conditioning with singles as I have a tourney coming up soon and last thing I need is brain wiring malfunctions.

TomT 01-09-2013 10:15 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by MasturB (Post 7109073)
First and foremost, I'm a self taught player that has spent the last 5 years hitting and playing singles. I play doubles occasionally and I MEAN occasionally.

I started playing more pickup doubles recently, and I noticed my brain and muscle memory is wired to hit the ball in the singles court. At the net when I have the entire doubles lane open, my brain for some reason aims for the singles alley line. Returning balls are becoming an issue too, because I'm frequently hitting singles returns too close for a poacher to capitalize on, leaving a huge part of the court wide open.

Any way to fix this (other than the obvious of playing more doubles)? I don't want to screw up my timing and conditioning with singles as I have a tourney coming up soon and last thing I need is brain wiring malfunctions.