Talk Tennis

Talk Tennis (http://tt.tennis-warehouse.com/index.php)
-   Adult League & Tournament Talk (http://tt.tennis-warehouse.com/forumdisplay.php?f=35)
-   -   Just starting (http://tt.tennis-warehouse.com/showthread.php?t=450762)

Lavi 01-13-2013 07:33 AM

Just starting

So I'm planning on entering USTA tournaments this year for the first time. Can I get advice on what to expect or anything that might help me out since I'm new at this?

dizzlmcwizzl 01-13-2013 07:41 AM

Opens, Age group tourney or NTRP level stuff?

In my experience: Which is only 2-3 tournies per year

Expect wide ranges in ability ... Lots of 1st round blowouts (hopefully you are the blower and not the blowee, or do I have that backwards?)

Some tourneys are exceptionally well run ... some are run exceptionally poorly ... I have rarely found many in the middle between those two extremes. Remember which is which for next year.

dizzlmcwizzl 01-13-2013 07:42 AM

Also, the USTA website will be of little to no use in finding tourneys for adults.

Lavi 01-13-2013 09:36 AM

Honestly I just wantnto work my way to becoming a pro. I thought playing these tournaments would get me there. Am I wrong?

gmatheis 01-13-2013 11:38 AM

I smell a troll :)

Lavi 01-16-2013 06:08 PM

I hope I'm taking the right approach at becoming a pro. I could use more advice.

LeeD 01-16-2013 06:58 PM

How good are you now?
Post a vid.
Hard to give advice without knowing your skill level, physical size, and movement traits.
For all we know, you could be a computer geek who just started playing tennis, and is asking how to become a pro.

slowfox 01-16-2013 07:03 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by dizzlmcwizzl (Post 7116509)
Also, the USTA website will be of little to no use in finding tourneys for adults.

Can you suggest some alternative or better way to find these tournaments? I'm looking to play a few this year, and all I know is the USTA. Help. Thanks.

beernutz 01-16-2013 07:41 PM

Quote: