Talk Tennis

Talk Tennis (http://tt.tennis-warehouse.com/index.php)
-   Stringing Techniques / Stringing Machines (http://tt.tennis-warehouse.com/forumdisplay.php?f=23)
-   -   measuring out string (http://tt.tennis-warehouse.com/showthread.php?t=450811)

EastAngels2014 01-13-2013 08:10 PM

measuring out string

So i am new to stringing and i have done a few racquets and on most of them i have barely had enough to tie off any suggestions on how to have more string? It happens when i am doing two piece. So if add length to the 1st half of the set will the 2nd half still have enough to string with?

Faithfulfather 01-13-2013 08:15 PM

You need more string for the mains and less for the crosses. It also depends on the type of racquet. Oversized racquets usually need 21' for the mains. I usually use 20' for the mains and have plenty left. It also depends on the type of machine your stringing on. My wise head is like 4" from my racquet.

EastAngels2014 01-13-2013 08:19 PM

i am using a gamma progression II

Lakers4Life 01-13-2013 08:31 PM

Crosses will typically use 2 feet less than the mains. If you string the same racket often, you will notice how much cut off you have after the mains and crosses. When looking up string patterns, they are usually pretty generous when it comes to string lengths, even with a DW.

It's always good to have a starting clamp as a bridge, just in case, no matter what.

mikeler 01-14-2013 07:34 AM

This site is a good resource for string lengths:

http://www.klipperusa.com/stringing/manufacturers.php

TennisCJC 01-15-2013 07:52 AM

Mikeler's site is excellent as it includes recommended main and cross string lengths. I have found that you can usually go 1 foot shorter than the Klipper site recommends - if they say 20'x19' (M&C), you can usually go 19'x18'. I would use there recommendation the first time, then adjust down a foot if you have extra length.

mikeler 01-15-2013 10:12 AM

Quote:

Originally Posted by TennisCJC (Post 7122113)