Talk Tennis

Talk Tennis (http://tt.tennis-warehouse.com/index.php)
-   Health & Fitness (http://tt.tennis-warehouse.com/forumdisplay.php?f=18)
-   -   Calling Running Experts (http://tt.tennis-warehouse.com/showthread.php?t=450949)

Roy125 01-14-2013 08:22 PM

Calling Running Experts

Is it better exercise for me to run slower but longer (e.g. 4 miles in 40 minutes) or faster but at a shorter time (e.g. 2 miles in 15 minutes)? What are the pros and cons of both? I can do both but which one is better for my health? Or should I alternate?

McLovin 01-15-2013 03:02 AM

I'm not a running expert, but I believe it is best to alternate during the run. The technical term for this is 'Fartlek' (pronounced 'fart lick'...honest, I'm not making this up).

You can read more about it here:
http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Fartlek
I've tried the training and it really does help with your stamina, quickness, and, most important, your recovery time between points.

Maui19 01-15-2013 03:13 AM

^^^also known as interval training.

Lefty5 01-15-2013 11:54 AM

depends on your goals. Running long slow miles will definitely build your endurance (but it won't make you quicker on the court). I didn't see real gains with my on court endurance until I put in the long slow miles, like 7 or 8 miles at a time. 3rd set? No prob, ready for 5.

mikeler 01-15-2013 12:20 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by Maui19 (Post 7121661)

I'm using the fart word.

LeeD 01-15-2013 12:22 PM

Both, but for most players, neither is nearly as effective as running 4 yard sprints, recover back to position, then 4 yards the opposite direction, always arriving in hitting position WITH a racket in hand.

McLovin 01-15-2013 01:20 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by LeeD (Post 7123007)
Both, but for most players, neither is nearly as effective as running 4 yard sprints, recover back to position, then 4 yards the opposite direction, always arriving in hitting position WITH a racket in hand.