Talk Tennis

Talk Tennis (http://tt.tennis-warehouse.com/index.php)
-   General Pro Player Discussion (http://tt.tennis-warehouse.com/forumdisplay.php?f=13)
-   -   Unfair Ruling for Janowicz (http://tt.tennis-warehouse.com/showthread.php?t=451054)

TennisCanada1 01-15-2013 04:37 PM

Unfair Ruling for Janowicz
 
Did anybody catch that? I believe it was 9-8 in the first set tiebreak for Janowicz, set point, on his serve, Somdev hits a forehand clearly wide that was called in. He just lost the first set, but just wow..

woodrow1029 01-15-2013 04:40 PM

Clearly wide? What angle did you see it at? It was close and could have been out, but on TV you can't say it was clearly wide.

woodrow1029 01-15-2013 04:40 PM

Additionally, this should be in results section.

Goosehead 01-15-2013 05:03 PM

it wasnt 'clearly wide' at all..anyway jj let the ball go by..he was just hoping it was out..it was his fault he blew set point on that.

augustobt 01-15-2013 08:11 PM

Come on! That ball was clearly out!

librarysteg 01-15-2013 08:12 PM

This was the first match without the ability to challenge I've watched in a long time. It was sort of fun to see both players get worked up a few time over iffy calls, but I think I much prefer the simplicity of the challenge system.

jwbarrientos 01-16-2013 03:49 AM

OMG that was clearly IN ... (over the line)

Steve0904 01-16-2013 03:50 AM

I thought the ball was in so the correct call was made.

AmbiDexter 01-16-2013 04:14 AM

I thought the ball was right on the line when watching the match live, but it seems the ball actually was just out:
http://youtu.be/jZtNLH_9PHU?t=2m4s
no wonder he get crazy

Rogael Naderer 01-16-2013 04:19 AM

Poor guy, hard call for anyone to make and his reaction is ridiculous.

Surely motivation to move yourself up the rankings and play on HE available courts?

Clay lover 01-16-2013 04:22 AM

It's an optical illusion for us who is watching the video. We can't tell where the ball bounced as it traveled on the same path as where the side line was going, and it kind of blended with the line for a sec. When we finally see the ball, it looked like it had just bounced but actually it bounced while it was being "camouflaged" by the sideline.

Cup8489 01-16-2013 04:25 AM

To me it looks obviously wide, to be honest.

Not that it matters... :)

Steve0904 01-16-2013 04:27 AM

Quote:

Originally Posted by AmbiDexter (Post 7125241)
I thought the ball was right on the line when watching the match live, but it seems the ball actually was just out:
http://youtu.be/jZtNLH_9PHU?t=2m4s
no wonder he get crazy

That video doesn't convince me. I still say it's in. Unless someone put a hawkeye on that I'll believe it was in. The umpire was on the other side so it was a tough call anyway.

atptennis 01-16-2013 04:27 AM

Ruling might or might not have been unfair. Be that as may, Jerzy's reaction was over the top IMHO.

Dark Magician 01-16-2013 05:27 AM

Why didnt he Challenge?

Steve0904 01-16-2013 05:32 AM

Quote:

Originally Posted by Dark Magician (Post 7125371)
Why didnt he Challenge?

No hawkeye on that court.

Dark Magician 01-16-2013 05:35 AM

Quote:

Originally Posted by Steve0904 (Post 7125383)
No hawkeye on that court.

Yeah, just realised that. Just saw the video's link in one of the above posts.

Dark Magician 01-16-2013 05:38 AM

Delete post

SwankPeRFection 01-16-2013 05:39 AM

Quote:

Originally Posted by AmbiDexter (Post 7125241)
I thought the ball was right on the line when watching the match live, but it seems the ball actually was just out:
http://youtu.be/jZtNLH_9PHU?t=2m4s
no wonder he get crazy

Caught the outside of the line my man. The first time, I thought it was out too because of the very vertical bounce it has, but the slowmo replays show that it was actually in.

A good reason they should have challenge cameras in place even on outside courts. If they're going to use them, it's unfair to players who aren't ranked high enough to play on the big courts not to have them on the smaller courts.

PSNELKE 01-16-2013 05:43 AM

Lol that was CLEARLY IN.
Anyway that skillless pr1ck still somehow fought through that counter puncher of an opponent.


All times are GMT -8. The time now is 04:44 PM.

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.6.9
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
© 2006 - Tennis Warehouse