Talk Tennis

Talk Tennis (http://tt.tennis-warehouse.com/index.php)
-   Tennis Tips/Instruction (http://tt.tennis-warehouse.com/forumdisplay.php?f=17)
-   -   Gilad Bloom: Forehandfinish in the neck!? (http://tt.tennis-warehouse.com/showthread.php?t=451891)

Roberto_spin 01-21-2013 10:09 PM

Gilad Bloom: Forehandfinish in the neck!?

Hi, In europe it's winter so I'm working on my technique to improve :)

I'm a 3,5 player who has a semi-western grip and 90% of the finishes I end up wrapping around my shoulder/middle. most open en semi-open stances. I prefer clay.

I'm more of a spanish player, but I want to play more agressive on the indoor hardcourt I'm playing now, I came across this interesting article between styles american hardcourt vs spanish clay players

After searching the Internet I studied the tips form coach Gilad Bloom on the Forehand.

Why is he recommending a finish in the neck, before you end up around the shoulder?

I have read a lot of threads about the finishing and know that it's the result of how you hit before contacting the ball, not the goal on itself.

Does this helps to extend more and hit through the ball?

boramiNYC 01-21-2013 10:17 PM

I'm guessing his grip is eastern and his stance is more closed than neutral. it's very traditional swing taught for ages. It's okay to practice this as a beginner. If you use SW, you probably want to open up your stance more and finish more WW.

Roberto_spin 01-22-2013 08:00 AM

Quote:

Originally Posted by boramiNYC (Post 7146791)
I'm guessing his grip is eastern and his stance is more closed than neutral. it's very traditional swing taught for ages. It's okay to practice this as a beginner. If you use SW, you probably want to open up your stance more and finish more WW.

That was also what I was assuming. But if you watch his first videoclip about clips: he is actually recommending a semi-western for the forehand and finishing this way before finishing around the shouder/middle or even reverse.