Talk Tennis

Talk Tennis (http://tt.tennis-warehouse.com/index.php)
-   Strings (http://tt.tennis-warehouse.com/forumdisplay.php?f=14)
-   -   Issue w/ Luxilon Alu Power (http://tt.tennis-warehouse.com/showthread.php?t=454059)

jfong008 02-07-2013 07:41 PM

Issue w/ Luxilon Alu Power

Hello everyone, i've been playing tennis for two years now and until the past two months I had never broken my strings. The issue I am currently having is that within the last month I've broken 6 luxilon alu power strings @55. I usually play with my brother and we hit the ball VERY hard and with a lot of spin. He hits a little bit harder than me yet he does not break his strings at all. I am just curious why I'm breaking so many strings, upon a closer look of the past 3 strings i've broken it seems like the crosses are cutting into the mains, it is happening along the entire sweetspot of the racket not only where the strings popped. Is anybody having the same issue?

chaddles 02-08-2013 02:16 AM

You need to post what racquet your using, and are you using old balls and trying to hit with loads of top spin? Also are the breaking near the centre or near the the grommets?

jfong008 02-08-2013 11:18 AM

I've broken the strings on the new and old models of the pure drive, yonex vcore, and boris becker london. We open 3-4 cans every week of the penn marathon balls. The strings break in the middle between the middle and the grommet, but the mains are cutting through the crosses throughout the sweetspot.

JDMasFCK 02-08-2013 11:35 AM

The open string pattern combined with new balls and heavy spin can cause strings to break faster...

jfong008 02-08-2013 08:01 PM

yea but is it normal for the mains to be cutting into the crosses?

JDMasFCK 02-08-2013 10:13 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by jfong008 (Post 7201390)
yea but is it normal for the mains to be cutting into the crosses?