Talk Tennis

Talk Tennis (http://tt.tennis-warehouse.com/index.php)
-   Racquets (http://tt.tennis-warehouse.com/forumdisplay.php?f=9)
-   -   Choosing a racket for 13 yo beginner (http://tt.tennis-warehouse.com/showthread.php?t=455030)

rmccarty 02-17-2013 09:11 AM

Choosing a racket for 13 yo beginner

I need some racket advise for my almost 13 y.o. daughter. She's an absolute beginner but is athletic. She's approximately 5ft tall. She has attempted play a couple of times with a 25" Wilson Tour with 3 5/8 grip. She likes the racket, but I think the grip is a bit too small for her. IMO, the length of the racket is too short, as well. I had her hold my Pro Kennex Bronze Ace and my Prince Graphite Comp. Both have 4 1/4 grips. Those grips are too large for her. She didn't like the rackets at all because they are too heavy for an 85 lb girl. I think the PK & Prince rackets are a bit intimidating as well - maybe due to their length. But no 13 y.o. girl would admit that.

I've read the several buyer's guides and pro advise on the 'net for buying rackets including junior rackets. They advise going to 27 inch rackets if over 12 and over 5ft tall.

Should I put her in longer racket even though she doesn't want to?

pkshooter 02-17-2013 09:28 AM

Yes..........

Smasher08 02-17-2013 09:50 AM

No need for a kids's racket for her. What will be important is grip size. At 13 that's probably a L1.

As for which model, get her something she that's got a good weight and head-light balance. Avoid something too light or too large headed since it will be more difficult for her to learn proper stroke technique with those.

Wilson 6.1 95 (any of the iterations except for the Lite)
Wlson BLXPS 6.1 95
Head Instinct MO

EDIT: just re-read your post and noticed she's 85 lbs. Perhaps the Lite models are the way to go in that case.

NLBwell 02-17-2013 10:04 AM