Talk Tennis

Talk Tennis (http://tt.tennis-warehouse.com/index.php)
-   Odds & Ends (http://tt.tennis-warehouse.com/forumdisplay.php?f=21)
-   -   Any Pharmacy technicians? (http://tt.tennis-warehouse.com/showthread.php?t=455289)

Rktennis1 02-19-2013 05:53 PM

Any Pharmacy technicians?

I've been a tennis pro my whole adult life, and Im done with it. I currently have a decent job in the tennis industry, but its rare and not where I want to live anymore. I was thinking about becoming certified as a pharmacy tech. It probably wont be a forever career, but I have my undergrad in chemistry, so I figured it would be an easy transition, and these jobs are located everywhere. Gives me time to find something else or grad school. I know these jobs over $50k are rare, and Im ok with that.

Anyone ever done it, have any perspective? Thanks.

slowfox 02-20-2013 03:14 AM

I knew a bunch of folks from college who went the pharmacy route. It was considered a *safe* major. As far as I know they all have decent jobs now.

krz 02-20-2013 06:07 AM

Quote:

Originally Posted by Rktennis1 (Post 7225442)
I've been a tennis pro my whole adult life, and Im done with it. I currently have a decent job in the tennis industry, but its rare and not where I want to live anymore. I was thinking about becoming certified as a pharmacy tech. It probably wont be a forever career, but I have my undergrad in chemistry, so I figured it would be an easy transition, and these jobs are located everywhere. Gives me time to find something else or grad school. I know these jobs over $50k are rare, and Im ok with that.

Anyone ever done it, have any perspective? Thanks.

Chem is the perfect undergrad track for application to PharmD program. As far as I know a tech gets like 10-12/hr.

Your typical PharmD is pulling in 70K-90K first year out. Well worth the 4 year investment.

LuckyR 02-20-2013 01:44 PM

As a chemist myself, I can say you are overqualified for Pharm tech. Aim higher.