Talk Tennis

Talk Tennis (http://tt.tennis-warehouse.com/index.php)
-   Health & Fitness (http://tt.tennis-warehouse.com/forumdisplay.php?f=18)
-   -   pain in outside of hand (pinky) above wrist (http://tt.tennis-warehouse.com/showthread.php?t=456270)

Brocolt 03-01-2013 09:01 AM

pain in outside of hand (pinky) above wrist

Recently I have switched rackets from a Babolat pure drive to a new Wilson Blade 98 (always using a Multi string no polys). I hit for a few weeks no problem then one day I hit with my son for about 3hrs hard and I started to develop a pain in the outside of my hand in the pinky about an inch above the wrist. It almost feels like a broke bone on impact it is right were the racket handle sits in the palm.

Over a year ago I broke my wrist and had to take 8 months off and when I started playing again this is the same spot I would get pain in my hand. I have been playing for the last 6 months or so pain free in the hand and wrist.

Do you think the pain is a result of the new racket? It feels a lot nicer on the arm than my pure drive. Anyone else have this issue switching rackets and any suggestions?

Hi I'm Ray 03-01-2013 09:44 AM

It happens very, very rarely to me, I got that from extremely harsh rackets or if my poly dies/stiffens up too much on court and I end up playing it too long. I've never broken my hand but the pain is in the same area, in the bones of the pinky & ring finger right above the wrist.

Are you mistiming the new frame and framing it or hitting outside the sweetspot often? How high is your tension?

Brocolt 03-01-2013 09:53 AM