Talk Tennis

Talk Tennis (http://tt.tennis-warehouse.com/index.php)
-   Racquets (http://tt.tennis-warehouse.com/forumdisplay.php?f=9)
-   -   Bought a PK, still get pain.. (http://tt.tennis-warehouse.com/showthread.php?t=458055)

mbm0912 03-18-2013 08:19 AM

Bought a PK, still get pain..

I recently started playing with a PK Ki 315. Although it helped, I'm getting a good amount of pain starting to creep back in my shoulder and arm. I even have Softflex strings at low tension (53 lbs.) Also, this racquet may be a little on the heavy side for me, could that be contributing to pain? I hit about 3 times a week. The serve seems to be what causes the most discomfort. Any advice or alternate racquet suggestions would be appreciated. I'm not sure what my rating is, but I would consider myself an intermediate rec player. Thanks again.

Rabbit 03-18-2013 08:29 AM

If you had existing pain, don't be surprised if a new frame doesn't cure it immediately. It took some time to get the injury, it will take some time for it to heal.

When I had TE, I went to an arm surgeon. He put me on cortisone injections for a period of time for relief. A racquet/string change did make a big difference, but it took time.

KenC 03-18-2013 09:08 AM

I would also make sure your technique is not the real culprit of your pain. The serve is a very complex series of motions and doing something awkward can put a lot of repetitive stress on joints.

While the 315 is a very comfortable racquet and very arm friendly, it is not a cure (no matter what the sticker on it says) for arm and shoulder pains. The best it can do is only make the racquet a little less jarring on impact when compared to most other modern racquets.

scotus 03-18-2013 09:32 AM

When TE has progressed beyond a certain point, no racquet in the world can sufficiently reduce the pain.