Talk Tennis

Talk Tennis (http://tt.tennis-warehouse.com/index.php)
-   Tennis Tips/Instruction (http://tt.tennis-warehouse.com/forumdisplay.php?f=17)
-   -   Any Rule Against Playing Same Point Both Right-handed & Left-handed? (http://tt.tennis-warehouse.com/showthread.php?t=462020)

USS Tang 04-28-2013 02:41 PM

Any Rule Against Playing Same Point Both Right-handed & Left-handed?
 
If it can be done, it might have a tactical advantage. Opponent will be thrown off-guard. Is this a rules violation?

WildVolley 04-28-2013 03:39 PM

No. Perfectly legal. If it were illegal, it would make the 2hbh and related shots illegal.

You can occasionally see a professional switch hands in desperation to get the reach to hit a ball in, but it is rare. The main argument against switching hands has been the time issue, in terms of how long it takes to switch the racket from one hand to the other. The two-handled racket was one approach to dealing with this issue.

WildVolley 04-28-2013 03:42 PM

Here's a rare example of someone playing ambidextrous tennis.

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=Pu-48XBl8zA

And Luke Jensen the famous doubles player could reputedly serve 130mph with either hand.

10s talk 04-28-2013 04:06 PM

Sharapova has done it several times

North 04-28-2013 04:12 PM

Perfectly legal. I am a rightie but have a left handed forehand I use sometimes when I am stretched out on the run. I have had to explain to several opponents over the years that it's legal to do that.

Say Chi Sin Lo 04-28-2013 04:14 PM

I've bamboozled opponents by jumping off of the off leg.

SystemicAnomaly 04-28-2013 06:02 PM

No rule. I do it quite often (since my dominant left shoulder is impaired). As mentioned above, Sharapova does it every once in a while and Dual-Hand Luke (Jensen) switched serving arms quite often during a game or match.

WildVolley 04-28-2013 06:07 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by Say Chi Sin Lo (Post 7374530)
I've bamboozled opponents by jumping off of the off leg.

Do you mean the Nishikori-style smash forehand?

WildVolley 04-28-2013 06:07 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by SystemicAnomaly (Post 7374748)
No rule. I do it quite often (since my dominant left shoulder is impaired). As mentioned above, Sharapova does it every once in a while and Dual-Hand Luke (Jensen) switched serving arms quite often during a game or match.

Can you serve with both hands?

Say Chi Sin Lo 04-28-2013 06:18 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by WildVolley (Post 7374757)
Do you mean the Nishikori-style smash forehand?

Not quite, but when I go for my anime-style smash forehand, I use the hang-time so I can flatten it out and drive the ball down into the court.

I still manage about 8.634ft of air and a sizeable aura of pure energy jumping off my off leg.

purple-n-gold 04-28-2013 06:43 PM

No, it's not illegal. I know of a few guys that can play this way. Huge advantage serving, seen only 2 guys do this well. One high ranked junior many years ago played lefty and could ace you righty and lefty. Most recently seen a fellow playing local leagues here play only a forehand, both sides:)

SystemicAnomaly 04-28-2013 06:56 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by WildVolley (Post 7374760)
Can you serve with both hands?

Affirmative. Not quite as good as dual-hand Luke tho'.

goran_ace 04-28-2013 07:15 PM

Back in high school I used to mess around against weak opponents and would serve righty then play out the rest of the point lefty.

TennisCJC 04-28-2013 08:22 PM

My team played against a guy who served R handed and then played everything else L handed. I could not understand why he didn't serve L handed because I would love to have a L handed serve.

ark_28 05-01-2013 06:47 AM

In Cricket Kevin Pietersen has become famous as a right handed batsman he changes last minute (it is called the switch hit) and hits it as a left hander some feel it should be against the rules as it is not fair on bowler! either way you have to be very talented to do it.

Here is the switch hit

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=XiHSy5p0F5E

mmk 05-01-2013 09:41 AM

Quote:

Originally Posted by ark_28 (Post 7379996)
In Cricket Kevin Pietersen has become famous as a right handed batsman he changes last minute (it is called the switch hit) and hits it as a left hander some feel it should be against the rules as it is not fair on bowler! either way you have to be very talented to do it.

Here is the switch hit

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=XiHSy5p0F5E

I watched David Warner do the same thing.

J_R_B 05-01-2013 10:18 AM

There is a guy who I play with sometimes who can hit 1HFH, 1HBH, and 2HBH off both sides, and uses all 6 shots during the course of a match. It's very difficult to play against because you never who where the ball is coming from or what kind of spin it will have.

mmk 05-01-2013 10:37 AM

Quote:

Originally Posted by J_R_B (Post 7380559)
There is a guy who I play with sometimes who can hit 1HFH, 1HBH, and 2HBH off both sides, and uses all 6 shots during the course of a match. It's very difficult to play against because you never who where the ball is coming from or what kind of spin it will have.

I already have a hard time playing lefties, that would drive me nuts.

ark_28 05-01-2013 11:01 AM

Quote:

Originally Posted by mmk (Post 7380433)
I watched David Warner do the same thing.

Good call Warner does a great switch hit too!

tennisnj 05-01-2013 02:33 PM

If that were illegal I would've been defaulted from every match I've played in since I was a teenager. I routinely use 2 hands on both sides & then 1 hand on both sides without hesitation. At this point in my tennis career I could use any help I can get playing these young high schoolers. One can never have enough weapons.


All times are GMT -8. The time now is 09:10 AM.

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.6.9
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
© 2006 - Tennis Warehouse