Talk Tennis

Talk Tennis (http://tt.tennis-warehouse.com/index.php)
-   Tennis Tips/Instruction (http://tt.tennis-warehouse.com/forumdisplay.php?f=17)
-   -   Any Hope For Short Guys to get a decent Serve? (http://tt.tennis-warehouse.com/showthread.php?t=466463)

that_was_just_out 06-11-2013 06:36 AM

Any Hope For Short Guys to get a decent Serve?

Hey All,

Newbie here. Been playing for years, decent game, but it really bugs me that I can't get any pop on my serve. I'm 5'8", am I just doomed by my physique to never be able to generate the proper torque or length or whatever it is that gives you some pop on the serve? I've tried really getting my legs into it, tossing the ball into the court, etc but to no avail. Or is it all in the wrist snap? I think sometimes I don't quite snap at it hard enough because I'm afraid it'll just wildly hit the fence or the bottom of the net.

Any hints maybe from other shorter guys who have a decent pop on their serve would be appreciated.

Cheers

looseleftie 06-11-2013 07:00 AM

Hey mate, I'm 5'10" so only a bit shorter..

My first bit of advice is to grab a couple of lessons.. Seriously, do yourself a favour and get a pro to help u rather than struggling yourself and getting frustrated..

Remember the serve is about the rythm, everything has to work together and in unison. Which is no different to your ground strokes really..Look at your hitting arm, is it getting into trophy position, and then is it dropping right down the back to give a little scratch??? Are u gripping too tight??

Ferrer is only 5'7" by the way...There was a little Belgium guy a few years ago, he was 5'5" from memory.

No doubt, being taller than 6' signicantly helps with the angle into the box..

I am only 2 inches taller, and what I found is that when I really drive up with my legs, and drive forwards, my contact point is quite high, and hitting with feet many inches off the ground.. I think, extend, drive and hit for my swing..