Talk Tennis

Talk Tennis (http://tt.tennis-warehouse.com/index.php)
-   Tennis Tips/Instruction (http://tt.tennis-warehouse.com/forumdisplay.php?f=17)
-   -   Tennis newbie (http://tt.tennis-warehouse.com/showthread.php?t=476138)

Electricsmooth 09-05-2013 03:18 PM

Tennis newbie

Hi everyone!

I just started playing tennis this year after a relative looking for a partner kept dragging me to the courts. At first, I did not find anything appealing about the game but once my returns started crossing the net and my service falling within the box, it got a lot more fun.

I really got the tennis bug and haven't felt this way about a sport since playing hockey in my earlier years. I am 39 now and my only regret is that I didn't discover tennis much earlier in life.

I want to improve and play as much as possible. I see other people on the courts and marvel at the skill displayed by some of them. This got me thinking about a tennis ball machine. I do have partners who regularly play with me but in a game situation, I find myself hesitant to try new things just to keep the rally going. Especially while playing doubles, I don't want to be the guy who screwed up. I really think a machine will help me improve my spin and baseling power game.

Im looking at a silent pro sport. It seems to be the best bang for the buck. Besides, they offer free shipping to Canada as well. I've read here that some people have been able to pick up these machines during a sale for $799. Currently, this model is $849. Has anyone been watching the website to see how often the price fluctuates? I'm in no rush as I probably only have another month of tennis to play before the rain starts (Vancouver, Canada) and doesn't stop until June next year.

Also, is it a good idea to get a machine? Am I rushing in? I believe I am committed to playing long term and I always follow through with my athletic goals.

Electricsmooth 09-05-2013 03:21 PM