View Single Post
Old 02-14-2007, 12:23 PM   #9
oldguysrule
Semi-Pro
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: Texas
Posts: 706
Default

There is no such thing as "stacking" in a USTA league match. That is because there is no rule, written or unwritten, that mentions setting your lineup according to the strength of the players. The choice of who plays #1 singles or #2 doubles does not involve an evaluation of the strength or talent of the individual players. It is simply a way of designating what court you are assigned to.

That being said, some teams do follow a pattern when assigning courts and so some strategy comes into play to try to get your team the best matchups. However, who's to say the opposition will cooperate in their court assignments when they play your team.

Please continue to share this with other league players, because obviously there are players that expect the #1 doubles spot to be the best doubles team, etc. This is an assumption that needs to be "nipped" as Barney would say.
oldguysrule is offline   Reply With Quote