View Single Post
Old 02-03-2008, 04:45 PM   #76
tennis-n-sc
Professional
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Posts: 1,261
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by AlpineCadet View Post

then it's generally accepted that it is 100% OKAY to intercept the ball.
It is accepted at the Saturday morning social, sometimes.

Quote:
If you want to strictly talk about the USTA rules,
Nope, I think we are talking about the Rules of Tennis, to which USTA adheres.


Quote:
But that specific rule was invented to prevent players from obstructing the ball from bouncing--cheating your opponents out of a decent/fair call.
Please provide us a source of why the rule was "invented".


Quote:
But if everyone knows that the LONG-SAILING NO-CHANCE-IN-H*LL ball is going to land outside the lines, then it is logically/rationally accepted that it is fine to stop a sailing "out" ball.
Everyone I know is under the correct impression that the ball is in play until it lands out, then it is called out.

Quote:
If you want to argue against this, then there is obviously a hitch in your logic. I am talking about out-balls. If you played enough, then you'd surely agree with me. Other than that, and politics aside, I don't see how you can argue against this point and get away with it.
I believe I have played more tennis than you and I am sure that I have officiated many more matches than you and I can emphatically say that your argument is immature, disrespectful foolishness.

[/quote]
tennis-n-sc is offline   Reply With Quote