Originally Posted by JavierLW
I think you are right because I practice the same thing (watching the whole trajectory of the ball, not just staring at the line).
Half the time when you are looking at the line if it's a good enough serve, you just see a yellow blur go across the line and obviously you cant call it out, but that doesnt mean it wasnt out.
Maybe it's true that you have a better shot at it then the receiver, but it's still silly to me that everyone thinks it's an actual rule that it's YOUR JOB to call that one. Ive had partners make horrible line calls going the other way as well.
But in a pro match, the line judge looks only at the line, isn't it?