View Single Post
Old 05-15-2010, 04:56 AM   #3
dizzlmcwizzl
Hall Of Fame
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: DE
Posts: 2,147
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Cindysphinx View Post

As I sit here, I am not sure I was correct. Maybe it was our point? I've never fully understood when you play a let when a player changes an out call to good and when it is loss of point. I know that when an official overrules a player's call in an officiated match, it is always loss of point, but how does this work when there is no official?

How should this have been handled?
The code address this problem and the summary of it is this. "It depends". It seems from your description replaying the point was the right thing to do.


the code:

12. Out calls corrected. If a player mistakenly calls a ball “out” and then
realizes it was good, the point shall be replayed if the player returned the ball
within the proper court. Nonetheless, if the player’s return of the ball results
in a “weak sitter,” the player should give the opponent the point. If the player
failed to make the return, the opponent wins the point. If the mistake was
made on the second serve, the server is entitled to two serves
__________________
"You should be playing linebacker, not singles."

Last edited by dizzlmcwizzl : 05-15-2010 at 05:01 AM.
dizzlmcwizzl is offline   Reply With Quote