View Single Post
Old 05-16-2010, 08:47 PM   #16
chatt_town
Hall Of Fame
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Posts: 1,894
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Cindysphinx View Post
I was playing a match last night that went to a 10-point tiebreak. We were down 7-9 with opponent serving to my partner.

Partner returns the ball from the deuce court high and sharply crosscourt with enough angle that the side curtains are making life difficult for the deep opponent. Ball bounces inside the doubles sideline. I was at net and shifted over to cover my alley. Opponent barely gets to the ball and gets it back deep.

And that's when I heard it: "Out!"

Opposing net player had called my partner's ball out when it was obviously in. She had a bad angle and was calling a ball while looking across a line, obviously, which is what caused her error. I am sure of this because I was looking down the line.

I walked up and said something like, "Are you calling that out? Seriously? On match point?"

Opponent said, "Hold on, hold on." She asked her partner, who said she didn't see it. There was some further discussion -- can't remember details. Then the opponent said, "Cindy, since you're sure the ball was in, you can have the point."

I said, "I appreciate that. But since your partner put the ball back in play and you're changing your out call to good, I think we should replay the point. That seems fair."

As I sit here, I am not sure I was correct. Maybe it was our point? I've never fully understood when you play a let when a player changes an out call to good and when it is loss of point. I know that when an official overrules a player's call in an officiated match, it is always loss of point, but how does this work when there is no official?

Regardless, I feel OK about not taking the point. I went way past "Are you sure?" in challenging her call, and I have to give this opponent credit for being willing to accept loss of point at such a critical time in the match. I also think it laudable that she didn't just say, "I saw it out" and stick her hand over the net to shake hands.

How should this have been handled?

I think you called that correctly...how does this though work with the "sitter" rule? I'm not sure how that goes but I think my partner got some guys with this in a championship match about 5 years ago. We are serving 5-2 in the third for the match against a team that had just beat us in the finals in Gainesville. I had to tell you all that just so you could see the drama unfold. So we kick the hell out of them 6-0 in the first. They come back and take the second 6-4. We are serving 5-2, 30-0 and I serve a missle down the middle of the court, the guy leans and drifts it back and as my partner is getting ready to basically bounce this off the court for a winner the retuner called it out. The partner said it was in and for me to take two. My partner then walks to the net(walking USTA manual) and says that it was a sitter and that the point was ours. He explained that a sitter is a ball that "should have and in all likely hood would have been put away so the point was ours. We go on get the next point for the match but I still catch hell today from the other two guys about it. My question is did he misinterpret the rule because it seems to contradict the what's going on here. He by no means was trying to screw them. he just plays everything by the rules straight up and down even if it's against us. That was just so happen to be in our favor. So what's the deal? Anyone here know?
chatt_town is offline   Reply With Quote