View Single Post
Old 05-17-2010, 06:34 AM   #20
dcdoorknob
Hall Of Fame
 
dcdoorknob's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Posts: 3,496
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Cindysphinx View Post
It works differently when there are roving officials. If a roving official sees you make a bad line call that you don't correct (so they have to correct you), it's loss of point.

I know this because I once played a tournament where my opponent called my shot on her baseline long on match point. The roving official happened to be right there, overruled her, and awarded me the point and the match.

Why would it be different when an official overuled the player and when a player overrules himself? In both cases the player made an errant call that stopped play when it should have continued. For me the player that made the call is at fault, no one or nothing else, and they should forfeit the point.
dcdoorknob is offline   Reply With Quote