View Single Post
Old 10-05-2011, 01:35 PM   #25
beernutz
Hall Of Fame
 
beernutz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: expanding my Ignore List
Posts: 3,970
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Nellie View Post
I think that is a terrible call - the ITF rule 24 say that a player loses the point when the ball lands out. There is no ambiguity. The Code (which operate under the rules) paragraph 15 says you are "entitled" to an prompt audible/visible call, but the paragraph 13 of the Code also, mentions that opponents "should" call their own shots out when obvious.
Code 13 and code 15 are not addressing the same topic. 13 is referring to a player calling their own shots out while 15 is referring to calling an opponent's shots out.

I do agree with you that this is a terrible call by the official. The remedy for not getting something to which you are entitled during a point is not necessarily for the other party to lose the point.
__________________
When should you serve and volley in doubles? Only when you want to win.
beernutz is offline   Reply With Quote