View Single Post
Old 07-09-2012, 11:01 AM   #34
woodrow1029
Hall Of Fame
 
woodrow1029's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Posts: 2,588
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by sjam316 View Post
Before the match Chris Fowler said something about the umpire not being able to officiate the finals that Nadal played in since they're both Spanish. Is this true? I never knew that they took nationality into account
Yes, it's true. An umpire cannot chair a match at a Grand Slam tournament in which a player from his country is playing, unless both players are from the same country.
woodrow1029 is offline   Reply With Quote