09-21-2012, 10:02 AM
Hall Of Fame
Join Date: Aug 2010
Originally Posted by fightfan
I thought this could be a thread where we can discuss lesser known tennis rules. I can start this by describing something that just happened to me, and I did not know what the official rule is.
I served the ball and fell on the court, ultimately rolling over. Fortunately my opponent hit a winner on the return so there wasn't much confusion. However, what is the official USTA rule on an incident like that?
1. Can my opponent call a hindrance and win the point immediately?
No , you falling down or dropping your racket is not a hindrance
2. Can my opponent call a let immediately?
Again no, there is no cause for a let here
3. What happens if he is distracted and hits an error? What if he hits a sitter that I subsequently put away?
Once again falling down or dropping your racket is not cause for hindrance or a let so however the point plays out is how it is.
4. Can I call a let or fault? I think if a ball flies out of your pocket or a hat falls off your head you can call a let the first time and lose the point outright the 2nd time.
I'm confused here , can you call a let for the scenario you described to begin with where you fall down?? no you cant. If its your first serve you can not call a fault on yourself, only on your second serve can you call your own serve out.
I believe you are correct on the last item, your hat falling off or ball falling out of your pocket is a let 1st time and point after that.
5. Something else?
Also, there is probably some type of official USTA rule, but has anyone seen this happen before in a competitive environment? If so, did they follow the USTA rules or do something else? I guess my biggest concern in terms of fair play is addressing the distraction a returner has and accidentally hitting an error or sitter that loses him the point. That doesn't seem right, but who knows?!
10 chars .....
Völkl PB10 Mid with some strings at some tension