View Single Post
Old 09-25-2012, 07:33 AM   #42
8F93W5
Rookie
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: San Jose, California
Posts: 338
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by uk_skippy View Post
How many people can answer this Q (correctly)?

I serve a 1st serve fault, and my opponent breaks a string while returning it?

What's my next serve? Another 1st serve, or a 2nd serve?
I didn't read ahead. Maybe someone answered. You didn't say if the opponent wants a racquet change or not. Maybe he/she wants to use the same racquet hoping you'll double fault or even if you don't, there's still a chance to win the point using a racquet with a broken string.
But by rule, you get a first serve if the opponent wants to change racquets between serves.
But how about when it's reversed? I was the returner and the server broke a string on first serve. This was a league match. AND the doofus didn't bring two racquets on court with him. He had to go to his car (which is against the rules, you can't leave the court for that) So anyway, of course I agree that he can go get a new racquet. It's about a 5 minute walk. Then he wants warm up serves! in the middle of a match! Then he wants a first serve. I knew the rule, but he got another first serve anyway.
8F93W5 is offline   Reply With Quote