View Single Post
Old 09-25-2012, 06:44 AM   #45
McLovin
Hall Of Fame
 
McLovin's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Posts: 2,516
Default

Original Question:
Your 1st serve was a fault, but the opponent did not clear the ball from the court and it is sitting inside the lines of play. During the point, your shot hits the ball on the court, and both balls go flying into the air. Your opponent unknowingly plays the wrong ball & hits a winner. Who's point is it?
Quote:
Originally Posted by blakesq View Post
Server's point as soon as the ball hits the ball on the court. It is receiver's responsibility to clear balls on his side of the net.
Incorrect.

Quote:
Originally Posted by Big_Dangerous View Post
It's your point because it was his responsibility to clear the ball and he had the opportunity to, but he declined.

There's no let for that unless a ball from an adjacent court came into your court during a point in play, but in that case someone has to call a let immediately.
Incorrect.

The answer is: You play a let (see rule 25): http://assets.usta.com/assets/1/USTA...c_13_16051.pdf

Additionally, if it is clear the opponent hit the correct ball, they win the point.
__________________
"Nobody beats Vitas Gerulaitis 17 times in a row" -- Vitas Gerulaitis, after beating Jimmy Connors on his 17th try.
McLovin is offline   Reply With Quote